Biological Sciences Program

Program Overview/Mission

The Biological Science program at University of Houston-Clear Lake gives you the opportunity to pursue a career in a health-related profession or to obtain training in an allied health field. This program is most beneficial for students on the pre-medical track, though you can also combine it with another area of study, such as business, environmental studies, law or science writing. 

A biological sciences degree from UHCL provides the rigorous, practical coursework requires for you to meet the increasing demands of today’s market. You’ll learn valuable information rooted in the multidisciplinary skills of research and technology as you pursue a leading role in the sciences or as you pursue further academic study.

Program Degrees

  Biological Science B.A.
 

Biological Science B.A.

  • Biological Science B.A. with Life Sciences 7-12 Certification
  Biological Sciences M.S.
 

Biological Sciences M.S.

  • Biological Science M.S. with Pre-Health Specialization
  • Biological Science M.S. with Plant Biology Specialization
  • Biological Science M.S. with Cell/Molecular Specialization
  • Biological Science M.S. with Ecology/Microbiology/Aquatic and Marine Biology Specialization

Minors and Certificates

Faculty

Thomas Garcia
Thomas Garcia

Thomas Garcia

Assistant Professor of Biology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3740
Email: GarciaT@UHCL.edu
Office: B3321

Faculty Bio

Stephen Gruber
Stephen Michael Gruber

Stephen Michael Gruber

Lecturer of Biological Sciences,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3779
Email: gruber@uhcl.edu
Office: B3531

Faculty Bio

George Guillen
George Guillen

George Guillen

Executive Director of Environmental Institute of Houston and Professor of Biology and Environmental Science ,

Contact number: 281-283-3950
Email: guillen@uhcl.edu
Office: N116

Faculty Bio

Cynthia Howard
Cynthia Howard

Cynthia L. Howard

Program Chair of Biological Sciences and Professor of Biology and Environmental Science,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3745
Email: howardc@uhcl.edu
Office: 3525-12

Faculty Bio

Ronald Mills
Ronald Mills

W. Ronald Mills

Professor of Biology and Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3773
Email: mills@uhcl.edu
Office: B3531-1

Faculty Bio

Richard Puzdrowski
Richard Puzdrowski

Richard L. Puzdrowski Jr.

Associate Professor of Biology, Biotechnology, Environmental Science and Cooperative Degree Program Advisor ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3750
Email: puzdrowski@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525- 4

Faculty Bio

Bazlur Rashid
Bazlur Rashid

Bazlur Rashid

Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283 3756
Email: rashid@uhcl.edu
Office: 3525-11

Faculty Bio

Larry Rohde
Larry Rohde

Larry Rohde

Department Chair of Biological & Environmental Sciences and Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3743
Email: rohde@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-6

Faculty Bio

Patricia Trubl
Patricia Trubl

Patricia Trubl

Lecturer of Biology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3762
Email: Trubl@UHCL.edu
Office: B3321

Faculty Bio

Lory Z. Santiago-Vázquez
Lory Santiago-Vázquez

Lory Z. Santiago-Vázquez

Program Chair of Biotechnology, Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3776
Email: santiago@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-7

Faculty Bio

Brian Stephens
Brian Stephens

Brian Stephens

Associate Professor of Biotechnology and Biology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3798
Email: Stephensb@UHCL.edu
Office: B3525

Faculty Bio

Contact