Center for Faculty Development Awards

On May 2, 2019, UHCL faculty were honored at the Center for Faculty Development Awards. These awards are held annually by the Center to promote and sustain a campus culture that values intellectual inquiry, scholarship, and creative engagement. Here are the winners for the 2018-19 academic year at UHCL, as well as a list of faculty honored for teaching over 1000, 2500, and 5000 students during their time here at our university! 

New Faculty AwardsPictured from the left: Dr. Jiang Lu, Dr. Xiaojun "Gene" Shan, and Dr. Neal Dugre  

New Faculty Awards

Recognizing new faculty who have performed at a very high level on either teaching, research, or service before they apply for promotion.

Teaching Award – Neal Dugre
Research Award – Jiang Lu
Service Award – Xioajun "Gene" Shan

Texas Research & Scholarship Award

Recognizing faculty for high level of scholarship on topics concerning the state of Texas.

Using the Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT) 7 Nonverbal Battery to Identify the Gifted/Talented: An Investigation of Demographic Effects and Norming Plans - Carol Carman & Christine Walther

Instructional Innovation Award

Recognizing faculty who stimulate a spirit of experimentation and creativity in trying out new ideas to enhance teaching and learning in specific, practical, and generalizable ways.

Learning through Simulation: Professional Socialization of Communication Students – Anna Klyueva

Honorable Mentions: 
Breakout Boxes in (and out of) the Classroom - Carol Carman

“Go to 11” Award

Awarded to faculty who earned 11 or more credits for activities sponsored by the Center for Faculty Development.

Carol Carman
Tom Cothern
Soma Datta
Kent Divoll
David Garrison
Anne Gessler
Pilar Goyarzu
Youssef Hamidi
Mary Hedengren
Angela Howard
Lorie Jacobs
Lisa Jones
Angela Kelling
Anna Klyueva
Isabelle Kusters
Michael LaMontagne

Renee Lastrapes
Amy Lucas
Samina Masood
Janice Newsum
Lynn Place
Wanalee Romero
Christal Seahorn
Lory Santiago-Vasquez
Xiaojun "Gene" Shan
Donna Stringer
Brian Wasko
Christine Walther
Sandra Watson
Jeffrey Whitworth
Omah Williams-Duncan

Number of Students Taught

Honoring faculty members who have taught 1,000, 2,500, and 5,000 students since their hire date at UHCL. 

Faculty who have taught 5,000+ students

Philip Decker
Frank Matthews
Mike McMullen
Richard Puzdrowski

Naveed Saleem
L. Jean Walker
Kevin Wooten

Faculty who have taught 2,500+ students
Caroline Crawford
Rebecca Huss-Keller
Alexandra MacDermott

Timothy Michael
Haeyoung Shin
Daniel Silvermintz

Faculty who have taught 1,000+ students

Ahmed Abukmail
Susan Basso McCauley
Michael Clody
Sarah Costello
Deborah Griffin

Daniel Haworth
Vanessa Johnson
Charles Philips, Jr. 
Desdamona Rios
Christal Seahorn

CFD Staff Appreciation Award

Awarded annually to a distinguished staff member who has shown outstanding excellence and superior performance to assist the Center for Faculty Development accomplish goals throughout the year.

Lea Black, Division Business Administrator

  • Center for Faculty Development

    Phone: 281-283-3291

    Bayou Building, 2508
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 74
    Houston, TX 77058-1002

    Office Hours

    Since we are frequently out of the office for meetings and on-site consultations, we do not hold regular office hours. However, we are happy to meet with you, and we encourage you to schedule an appointment with us.