WELCOME TO THE



Promoting and sustaining a campus culture that values intellectual inquiry, scholarship, and creative engagement.

2024 AWARDS & RECOGNITION CELEBRATION

February

 3^{rd} - 7^{th}

2025

FACULTY DEVELOPMENT WEEK

Awards will be recognized in sessions held throughout Faculty Development Week. This program provides a list of all the faculty recognized for their milestones and awards.

Number of Students Taught

Honoring faculty members who have taught 1000, 2500, 5000 and 10000 UHCL students.

Faculty who have taught 5000+ students

Barry Marks Clifton Mayfield Susan Sorensen Faiza Zalila

Faculty who have taught 2500+ students

Krishani Abeysekera Ahmed Abukmail Said Bettayeb Nelson Carter Stephen Gruber Laura Guerrero Michael Heerey Raymond Khoury William Kilgore Jeffrey Lash Judith Marquez Brian Stephens Felicia Thomas

Faculty who have taught 1000+ students

Manki Cho Rachel Hensley Anne Marcoline Marjorie Paben Deani Quick Unal "Zak" Sakoglu

Sheila Schatzke Joseph Stromberg Steven Sutherland

"Go to 11" Award

Awarded to faculty who earned 11 or more credits for activities sponsored by the Center for Faculty Development.

Sheila Baker Donglai Bao Robert Bartsch Kazi Billah Caroline Crawford Mary Curtis Soma Datta Kent Divoll Angela Kelling Giazú Enciso Domínguez Leslie Gauna Anne Gessler Michelle Giles Shanna Graves Shivani Gupta Kelsey James Lisa Jones Anna Klyueva Michael LaMontagne Ashley MacPherson Shreerekha Pillai Uttam Pokharel Roberta Raymond Christal Seahorn Xiaojun "Gene" Shan Christine Walther Jeffery Whitworth

"Go to 11" All-Stars

Awarded to faculty who earned the most credits in the "Go to 11" award category sponsored by the Center for Faculty Development.

Gene "Xiaojun" Shan

Christine Walther

Angela Kelling

CFD Early Career Faculty Awards

Recognizing early career faculty who have performed at a very high level before they apply for promotion.

Jane Cooper Giazú Enciso Domínguez Charuksha Walgama

We thank representatives from the Council of Professors for being the selection panel for this award.

Instructional Innovation Award

Recognizing faculty for stimulating a spirit of experimentation and creativity in trying out new ideas to enhance teaching and learning in specific, practical, and generalizable ways.

> Kathleen Garland Food Deserts Scavenger Hunt

Kimberly McGough Counseling Intervention Infomercials: Shark Tank@Style

Daniel Silvermintz Antigone vs Creon: Staging a Mock Trial to Develop Ethical Problem Solving

Allyssa Wadsworth 2008 Financial Crisis Interview and Round Table Discussion

Scholarship to Improve Higher Education

Recognizing faculty for publishing or presenting scholarship to improve academia.

Dina Abdel-Zaher

Building Synergistic Mindsets in International Business Education: The Unmet Demands of a VUCA Marketplace

Debra Clark A Case Study Discussion of 'Strange Fruit': Teaching an Interdisciplinary-Multimedia Lesson Regarding Vigilante Justice and Racism in the United States

Soma Datta Using Kolb's Experiential Learning in Agile Software Development Course

Wanalee Romero Abolishing the Language of Slavery: Critical Pedagogy for Anti-Racist Conversations



We thank the Faculty Senate Teaching and Research Committee for being the selection panel for this award. We thank the Faculty Senate Teaching and Research Committee for being the selection panel for the Scholarship to Improved Higher Education Awards.

Texas Research & Scholarship Award

Recognizing faculty for high level of scholarship on topics concerning the state of Texas.

Kimberly Dodson Transforming Research into Practice: Holding Police Accountable by Examining Officer's Attitudes Regarding Body Worn Cameras (BWCs) in a Border Community

Jennifer Grace 'Not Looking to Blame, Shame or Horrify People': Texas Educational Leaders Reflect on Employing Anti-Racism in Everyday School Leadership

> Lisa Gossett Dow's Reservoir and the Realities of Flooding in Texas

Michelle Peters The Influence of COVID-19 on Campus Leaders' Curriculum Integration, Perceptions Towards, and Acquired Expertise in Technology

We thank the Faculty Senate Teaching and Research Committee for being the selection panel for the Texas Research & Scholarship Awards.

CFD Staff Appreciation Award

Awarded annually to a distinguished staff member who has shown outstanding excellence and superior performance in assisting the Center for Faculty Development in accomplishing its goals.

> Lee Hilyer Executive Director, Alfred R. Neumann Library

College Cup

Awarded annually to a UHCL college with highest faculty participation in Center for Faculty Development activities.

College of Human Sciences and Humanities

2024-2025 Faculty Advisory Board

Hisham Al-Mubaid Giazú Enciso Domínguez Kathleen Garland Emily Horton Laura Guerrero Tej Limbu Heather Pule Christal Seahorn

Thanks and Dedication

We express our thanks to the faculty members who participated in Center for Faculty Development programing throughout 2024. Also, a special thank you to all of the staff members form the various departments on campus that have helped to make our offerings a success. Without your talent, support, encouragement, and participation the UHCL Center for Faculty Development could not exist.

A special thank you to Lexi Herrera, Director of Academic Communications, Office of the Provost, for creating the awards graphics and helping to promote Faculty Development Week