2006 Texas Envirothon

John Cooper High School
John Cooper School takes top honors at the Texas Envirothon on Monday, March 27, 2006, LeTourneau University. Members of Team A are Sannya Hede, Gerardo Mijares-Shafei, Tony Valderrama, Melisa Pferdehirt, Joseph Rosenthal, and Tina Davies (adviser).

The Texas Envirothon was held March 25 through 27, 2006 at Eastman Chemical Company's Nature and Wildlife Habitat Center near Longview. The overall winner of the competition was returning champion John Cooper School, Team A. Paschal High School and Conroe Academy of Science and Technology, Team A placed second and third, respectively. The winning team will represent Texas at the Canon Envirothon competition in Manitoba, Canada, July 23 through 29.

In addition to the overall winners, awards were given to the top scoring teams on the field/written exam, by topic and for the top team in the oral presentations, during a ceremony held at LeTourneau University Campus on Monday afternoon. The winners were John Cooper - Team A in Aquatics, Forestry, and Wildlife; Montgomery - Team B in Soils (a first-time team to the competition); Conroe - Team A in Current Issue; and John Cooper - Team B in Oral Presentation.

Download Press Release Final Results


  • Eastman Chemical Company
  • University of Houston-Clear Lake
  • Environmental Institute of Houston
  • Canon USA
  • Harris County Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Montgomery County Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Texas Association of Environmental Professionals
  • Association of Texas Soil and Water Conservation Districts
  • Texas Association for Environmental Education
  • National Environmental Education and Training Foundation
  • Shell Oil Company - Texas Regional Collaboratives
  • Sam Houston Resource Conservation and Development
  • Lyondell Chemical Company
  • Blue Bell Creameries, East Texas Branch
  • Richardson Environmental Action League
  • The following Soil & Water Conservation Districts:
    Upshur-Gregg, Davy Crockett-Trinity, Bedias Creek, Alamo County, Piney Woods, Smith County, Sulphur-Cypress County, Parker County, Walker County, Navasota


  Participating Schools

Nine schools for a total of 14 teams and five first-time school districts participated in the competition.

  • Berkner High School, Richardson
  • Conroe Academy of Science and Technology, Conroe
  • John Cooper High School, The Woodlands
  • Klein Collins High School, Spring
  • Montgomery High School, Montgomery
  • North Lamar High School, Paris
  • R. L. Paschal High School, Ft. Worth
  • John Tyler High School, Tyler
  • Westside High School, Houston
  • Texas Envirothon

    Phone: 281-283-3045
    Email: reistle@uhcl.edu

    North Office Annex
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 540
    Houston, TX 77058-1002

    Texas Envirothon Facebook Texas Envirothon Twitter Texas Envirothon Instagram