Skip Top Navigation

Environmental Institute of Houston Logo

Since 1991, the mission of the Environmental Institute of Houston at University of Houston-Clear Lake has been to advance understanding of the environment through interdisciplinary research, education, and outreach. 

The Environmental Institute Houston provides access to environmental information to the university and the community through activities, seminars and presentations that spotlight topics of vital importance to students, citizens, teachers and technical audiences.

Research and Environmental Education

Our research activities focus on water resources, wetlands, fisheries and wildlife conservation management. Institute scientists apply their diverse skills to examine environmental issues statewide and throughout the Gulf of Mexico. They deliver technical and scientific expertise, providing clarity to diverse environmental questions facing our region.

Educating students and community members about the environment is our primary objective. We provide technical assistance and professional development opportunities for educators, emphasizing environmental and science education by offering educator workshops for public and private schools, higher education, nature centers, parks and other environmental education providers. We invite you to learn more about EIH through our outreach programs that include public presentations, educational displays, lay-language reports and environmental data analysis.

Upcoming Events

November 2022

Tuesday, Nov 1, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Monday, Nov 7, 6:45–8:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Nov 8, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Tuesday, Nov 15, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Saturday, Nov 19, 9–11 a.m.

Youth Birding Club: Birding at Exploration Green, Phase 1. Meet at parking lot on Diana Lane at 9 a.m.

Monday, Nov 21–Wednesday, Nov 23, 8 a.m.–1 p.m.

Birding Camp '22, EIH. Free. Registration required.

Tuesday, Nov 22, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Tuesday, Nov 29, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

December 2022

Thursday, Dec 1, 1–3 p.m.

Native Milkweed & Monarch OE Workshop, NOA 1 Classroom. Free. Registration required.

Tuesday, Dec 6, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Saturday, Dec 10, 8:45 a.m.–3:30 p.m.

Becoming An Outdoors Girl, UHCL. Free. Registration required.

Tuesday, Dec 13, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Saturday, Dec 17, 9–11 a.m.

Youth Birding Club: Birding at Exploration Green, Phase 1 & 2. Meet at parking lot on Diana Lane at 9 a.m.

Tuesday, Dec 20, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Tuesday, Dec 26–Friday, Dec 30

EIH offices closed for winter break.

Contact

  • Environmental Institute of Houston

    Phone: 281-283-3950
    Email: eih@uhcl.edu

    North Office Annex
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 540
    Houston, TX 77058-1002