Environmental Institute of Houston Logo

Since 1991, the mission of the Environmental Institute of Houston at University of Houston-Clear Lake has been to advance understanding of the environment through interdisciplinary research, education, and outreach 

The Environmental Institute Houston provides access to environmental information to the university and the community through activities, seminars and presentations that spotlight topics of vital importance to students, citizens, teachers and technical audiences.

Research and Environmental Education

Our research activities focus on water resources, wetlands, fisheries and wildlife conservation management. Institute scientists apply their diverse skills to examine environmental issues statewide and throughout the Gulf of Mexico. They deliver technical and scientific expertise, providing clarity to diverse environmental questions facing our region.

Educating students and community members about the environment is our primary objective. We provide technical assistance and professional development opportunities for educators, emphasizing environmental and science education by offering educator workshops for public and private schools, higher education, nature centers, parks and other environmental education providers. We invite you to learn more about EIH through our outreach programs that include public presentations, educational displays, lay-language reports and environmental data analysis.

Upcoming Events

  March 2018

Tuesday, March 6, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day

Seed Cleaning, contact Rowena for information mcdermid@uhcl.edu

Tuesday, March 6, 1–3 p.m.

Seed Cleaning, contact Rowena for information mcdermid@uhcl.edu

Tuesday, March 6, 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, March 8, 7:30 p.m.

A Tale of Two Prairies, Houston Sierra Club General Meeting

Friday, March 9, 9–11 a.m. & 1–3 p.m.

CANCELED Seed Cleaning, contact Rowena for information mcdermid@uhcl.edu

Tuesday, March 13, 9–11 a.m.

Saturday, March 17, 9–11 a.m.

Youth Birding Club - Bay Area Park

Tuesday, March 20, 9–11 a.m.

Saturday, March 24, 8 a.m.–1 p.m.

Tuesday, March 27, 9–11 a.m.

  April 2018

Tuesday, April 3, 9–11 a.m.

Tuesday, April 10, 9–11 a.m.

Saturday, April 14–Monday, Apr 16

Texas Envirothon - Volunteers Needed

Tuesday, April 17, 9–11 a.m.

Saturday, April 21, 9–11 a.m.

Monday, April 23, 8 a.m.–5 p.m.

SWQM Training Course (Partial Course)

Monday, April 23–Thursday, Apr 26, 8 a.m.–5 p.m.

SWQM Training Course (Full Course)

Tuesday, April 24, 9–11 a.m.

Friday, April 27–Monday, Apr 30

  May 2018

Tuesday, May 1, 9–11 a.m.

Tuesday, May 8, 9–11 a.m.

Saturday, May 12

Marsh Mania - Sign up to volunteer

Tuesday, May 15, 9–11 a.m.

Saturday, May 19, 9–11 a.m.

Tuesday, May 22, 9–11 a.m.

Tuesday, May 29, 9–11 a.m.

  June 2018

Monday, June 4–Thursday, Jun 7, 8:30–1 p.m.

Tuesday, June 5, 9–11 a.m.

Monday, June 11–Thursday, Jun 14, 8:30–1 p.m.

Tuesday, June 12, 9–11 a.m.

Saturday, June 16, 9–11 a.m.

Monday, June 18–Friday, Jun 22

Tuesday, June 19, 9–11 a.m.

Monday, June 25–Wednesday, Jun 27, 8:30–12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 26, 9–11 a.m.

  • Environmental Institute of Houston

    Phone: 281-283-3950
    Email: eih@uhcl.edu

    North Office Annex
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 540
    Houston, TX 77058-1002

    UHCLCareer Facebook UHCLCareer Twitter UHCLArtGallery Instagram