COVID-19 Info: Mask Up, Vax Up, Get Tested, Self-Report

Environmental Institute of Houston Logo

Since 1991, the mission of the Environmental Institute of Houston at University of Houston-Clear Lake has been to advance understanding of the environment through interdisciplinary research, education, and outreach. 

The Environmental Institute Houston provides access to environmental information to the university and the community through activities, seminars and presentations that spotlight topics of vital importance to students, citizens, teachers and technical audiences.

Research and Environmental Education

Our research activities focus on water resources, wetlands, fisheries and wildlife conservation management. Institute scientists apply their diverse skills to examine environmental issues statewide and throughout the Gulf of Mexico. They deliver technical and scientific expertise, providing clarity to diverse environmental questions facing our region.

Educating students and community members about the environment is our primary objective. We provide technical assistance and professional development opportunities for educators, emphasizing environmental and science education by offering educator workshops for public and private schools, higher education, nature centers, parks and other environmental education providers. We invite you to learn more about EIH through our outreach programs that include public presentations, educational displays, lay-language reports and environmental data analysis.

Upcoming Events

April 2022

Friday, Apr 1, 8 a.m.

Tuesday, Apr 5, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Friday, Apr 8, 1–5 p.m.

Volunteers needed for Texas Envirothon, Houston (In person)

Monday, Apr 11, 6:30–8:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Apr 12, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Tuesday, Apr 12, 1–5 p.m.

Volunteers needed for Texas Envirothon, Houston (Zoom)

Saturday, Apr 16, 7–11 a.m. & 3–4 p.m.

Great Texas Birding Classic, Youth Birding Club

Tuesday, Apr 19, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Tuesday, Apr 19, 4 p.m.

Thesis Defense: "Influence of Freshwater Inflow in the Brazos River Estuary" by Joshua Jaeger. Viewing Room: UHCL, Bayou Building, Room 3615.

Watch via Zoom: Meeting ID: 992 0105 3400; Passcode: 690771

Wednesday, Apr 20, 10 a.m.

Thesis Defense: "Habitat Use, Distribution, and Density of Dwarf Seahorse (Hippocampus zosterae) Populations along the Texas Gulf Coast" by Story Lesher. UHCL, Bayou Building, Room 3615.

Watch via Zoom: Meeting ID: 924 4086 0875; Passcode: 759082

Tuesday, Apr 26, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

May 2022

Tuesday, May 3, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Tuesday, May 10, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Tuesday, May 17, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Saturday, May 21, 9–11 a.m.

Tuesday, May 24, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Wednesday, May 25, 11:59 p.m.

Registration deadline for Discover Nature Summer Camp

Tuesday, May 31, 8:30 a.m.–1 p.m.
Tuesday, May 31, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

June 2022

Tuesday, Jun 7, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Wednesday, Jun 8, 11:59 p.m.

Registration deadline for Citizen Science Summer Camp

Monday, Jun 13, 8:30 a.m.–1 p.m.

Monday, Jun 13, 6:30–8:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Jun 14, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Wednesday, Jun 15, 11:59 p.m.

Registration deadline for Hunger Games Summer Camp

Saturday, Jun 19, 9–11 a.m.

Monday, Jun 20, 8:30 a.m.–3 p.m.
Tuesday, Jun 21, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Tuesday, Jun 28, 9–11 a.m.

Habitat Work Day, NOA 1 Garden at UHCL

Contact

  • Environmental Institute of Houston

    Phone: 281-283-3950
    Email: eih@uhcl.edu

    North Office Annex
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 540
    Houston, TX 77058-1002