Social Work B.S.W. and Women's Studies Certificate

Build Skills and Insights for Your Career in Social Work

The foundation of your Bachelor of Social Work coursework from University of Houston-Clear Lake's College of Human Sciences and Humanities is in nine interrelated areas: human behavior and the social environment; social welfare policy; social work research; social work values and ethics; diversity; promoting social and economic justice; working with populations at risk; social work practice and field placements. By using the elective hours allowed in the B.S.W. degree and working closely with a faculty advisor, you can earn both the B.S.W. and the Certificate in Women's and Gender Studies without adding courses beyond the undergraduate degree plan requirements. This combination will make you especially well suited to working with vulnerable populations living in the Houston/Galveston metropolitan area.

Gain New Perspectives on Gender

Your certificate in Women’s Studies explores topics related to the psychology of women, gender and sexuality, cultural diversity and Latina social movements in the U.S. Discuss ways in which culture is impacted by the intersections of gender, race, class, sexuality, ethnicity, age, religion, disability and national origin. Equipped to adapt to changing work and family structures, you'll bring informed, thoughtful views to the many areas where you practice Social Work.
Request InformationHow to ApplyVisit


Admission Requirements

So, have we convinced you that University of Houston-Clear Lake's College of Human Science and Humanities is the next step in your pursuit of academic success? Learn what it takes to be admitted to help you reach your educational goals.



Degree Requirements

This degree has a specific set of courses you’ll need to complete before you can graduate from University of Houston-Clear Lake. Learn more about the classes that will help you complete the requirements of this degree. 


Degree Plan
Degree Map


Cost Information

Investigate the direction of your future with this look into the prospective costs of a degree from UHCL.


Tuition and FeesNet Price CalculatorFee Schedule Calculator


Deadlines for Applying

  • Freshman Deadlines
  • Fall

    Priority - February 1
    Final - August 1

  • Spring

    Priority - September 1
    Final - December 1


  • Transfer Deadlines
  • Spring 2018
    Priority – January 4
    Final – January 16
  • Summer 2018
    Priority Deadline (Summer I and II)– May 22
    Final (Summer I) – June 5
    Final (Summer II) – July 9
  • Fall 2018
    Priority – August 13
    Final – August 27

Summer I and II Priority Application deadline for undergraduate transfer, former and non-degree seeking undergraduate/graduate students. Students who apply after this date must submit all required documentation with their paper application in the Office of Admissions and will be processed for late registration.
  • International Deadlines
  • Fall

    Priority – March 1
    Final  – June 1

  • Spring*

    Priority – August 1
    Final – November 1

  • Summer

    Priority – February 1
    Final – April 1

*The application deadline for Spring 2018 Undergraduate applicants has been extended to December 13, 2017. Students who are in the U.S. and interested in applying for the Spring 2018 semester should contact dumbre@uhcl.edu for the application and application requirements. Students will not be able to apply online for the Spring 2018 semester.

Students interested in qualifying for scholarships &/or applying for visas outside the U.S. should apply and submit the application documents/test scores by the priority deadline

Freshman will not be accepted for Summer semester


Locations

  University of Houston-Clear Lake
 

University of Houston-Clear Lake

2700 Bay Area Blvd
Houston, TX 77058
Phone: 281-283-7600

Learn More


Accreditations and Distinctions

University of Houston-Clear Lake's Social Work undergraduate program is fully accredited by the Council on Social Work Education.


Social Work B.S.W. and Women's Studies Certificate Faculty

Stephen “Arch” Erich
Stephen Erich

Stephen"Arch" C. Erich

Professor of Social Work,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3388
Email: Erich@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Bldg. 2617.08

Faculty Bio

Jennifer Arney
Jennifer Arney

Jennifer Arney

Assistant Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3441
Email: Arney@UHCL.edu
Office: Bayou 2121

Faculty Bio

Andrea Baldwin
Andrea Baldwin

Andrea Baldwin

Lecturer of Communication,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3479
Email: baldwin@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor central 1307.14

Faculty Bio

Diana Bowen
Diana Bowen

Diana Bowen

Assistant Professor of Communication,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3354
Email: bowend@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2233.04

Faculty Bio

Christina Cedillo
Christina Cedillo

Christina Cedillo

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3483
Email: cedilloc@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.12

Faculty Bio

Maria Curtis
Maria Curtis

Maria Curtis

Associate Professor in Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3429
Email: Curtis@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617

Faculty Bio

Patricia Droz
Patricia Droz

Patricia Droz

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3481
Email: droz@uhcl.edu
Office: A1307

Faculty Bio

Joanna Eleftheriou

Joanna Eleftheriou

Assistant Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3480
Email: eleftheriou@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor Central 1307.15

Faculty Bio

Anne Gessler
Anne Gessler

Anne Gessler

Lecturer of Humanities,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3471
Email: gessler@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor Central 1307.02

Faculty Bio

Beth Hentges
Beth Hentges

Beth Hentges

Department Chair of Psychology and Associate Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3308
Email: hentges@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.05

Faculty Bio

Angela Howard
Angela Howard

Angela Howard

Professor of History,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3369
Email: howarda@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.03

Faculty Bio

Amanda Johnston
Amanda Johnston

Amanda Johnston

Assistant Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3393
Email: johnston@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.14

Faculty Bio

Heather Kanenberg
Heather Kanenberg

Heather Kanenberg

Associate Professor of Social Work,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3458
Email: kanenbergh@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617

Faculty Bio

Elizabeth Klett
Elizabeth Klett

Elizabeth Klett

Associate Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3445
Email: Klette@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Bldg. 1508.16

Faculty Bio

Christine Kovic
Christine Kovic

Christine Kovic

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3365
Email: kovic@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.04

Faculty Bio

Roberta Leal

Roberta Leal

Visiting Assistant Professor of Social Work,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3495
Email: LealR@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor Central 1307.11

Faculty Bio

Amy Lucas
Amy Lucas

Amy Lucas

Assistant Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3413
Email: Lucas@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.04

Faculty Bio

Anne Marcoline
Anne Marcoline

Anne Marcoline

Assistant Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3448
Email: Marcoline@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.03

Faculty Bio

Beth Merfish

Beth Merfish

Assistant Professor of Art History,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3432
Email: merfish@uhcl.edu
Office: B2121.12

Faculty Bio

Desdamona Rios
Desdamona Rios

Desdamona Rios

Assistant Professor of Social Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3457
Email: rios@uhcl.edu
Office:  Bayou 2121.06

Faculty Bio

Wanalee Romero
Wanalee Romero

Wanalee Romero

Lecturer of Literature and First-Year Experience,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3423
Email: romero@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.10

Faculty Bio

Christal Seahorn
Christal Seahorn

Christal R. Seahorn

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3444
Email: seahorn@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.07

Faculty Bio

Wanalee Romero
Wanalee Romero

Wanalee Romero

Lecturer of Literature and First-Year Experience,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3423
Email: romero@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.10

Faculty Bio

Shreerekha Subramanian
Shreerekha Subramanian

Shreerekha Subramanian

Department Chair of Liberal Arts and Associate Professor of Humanities,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3430
Email: subramanian@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.15

Faculty Bio

Joyce Taylor
Joyce Taylor

Joyce Taylor

Coordinator HSH Internship and Lecturer of Behavioral Science,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3377
Email: taylorj@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1125.02

Faculty Bio