Skip Top Navigation

University Council


University Council (UC) shall be the Shared Governance committee that will make final recommendations to the university president. Recommendations will come to the UC from the provost or the other Shared Governance committees.

The UC may approve, amend or disapprove the recommendations it receives. Should a recommendation be amended substantially or disapproved, it will be returned to the referring committee for reconsideration. The committee may amend the recommendation as requested or refer it back to UC with comments. All matters forwarded by UC constitute recommendations to the president. All final decisions on any such changes remain within the purview of the president.

Committee Structure and Voting Members

The chair of University Council is the UHCL president. Voting members of the council are:

Richard Walker – Chair

Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost:
Christopher Maynard

VP, Administration and Finance:
Mark Denney

Associate VP, Academic Affairs:
Kathryn Matthew    

AVP, Student Success & Initiatives:
Tim Richardson

Vice President, Student Affairs:
Aaron Hart  

Vice President, University Advancement:
Joseph Staley

Interim Executive Director, Human Resources:
Maureen Villarreal

AVP, Business Operations:
Sherry Hawn

AVP, Facilities Management and Construction:
Steven Kitchen   

Interim, AVP Marketing & Communications:
Daniel Ramirez

Executive Director for Neumann Library:
Vivienne McClendon

AVP, Sr. International Officer, GLS/Diplomacy Institute:
Gigi Do

CIO/AVP, Information Technology:
LeeBrian Gaskins

AVP/COO, UHCL at Pearland:
Beth Lewis

Dean of Students:
David Rachita

Academic Deans (4):

Faculty Senate Executive Committee (8):

Shared Governance Committee Chairs:  

University Staff Association (USA) President:
Matthew Perry

Student Government Association President:
Jasara Scates

Non-Voting Member 

Alumni Association, Executive Council:
Wayne Sallee

Contact Information

Dr. Richard Walker

Staff Support:
Executive Associate to the President, Berenice Webster

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held once a month on the second Thursday of the month 2-3:30 p.m. Virtual/Forest Room. No meetings in January, June, July, and August.

Membership Information

Meeting Minutes