Women's and Gender Studies Certificate

Gain New Perspectives on Gender

The Women’s and Gender Studies program at UHCL was founded in 1975 to engage students in studying how gender shapes the world around us. Our diverse curriculum focuses on the experience of women in national and international contexts, and emphasizes intersections of race, ethnicity, nationality, age, class, disability, and sexuality as analytical categories. Over two dozen WGST faculty are affiliated with programs such as anthropology, art, communication, history, humanities, literature, psychology, social work, sociology, and writing. Requiring only three courses to complete, this interdisciplinary certificate is designed to be paired with any undergraduate or graduate degree program.

Build Skills and Insights for Any Career

Our students learn many marketable skills, including critical thinking, writing, public speaking, and diversity training. They gain global and interdisciplinary perspectives in our courses that help them achieve their goals in their major fields, and make them compassionate and well-informed citizens of the international community. Students who do a certificate in WGST are prepared to work in for-profit and non-profit organizations, human rights and social help agencies, as well as for graduate study in a variety of fields. 

Request InformationHow to ApplyVisit


Admission Requirements

So, have we convinced you that University of Houston-Clear Lake's College of Human Science and Humanities is the next step in your pursuit of academic success? Learn what it takes to be admitted to help you reach your educational goals.



Degree Requirements

This degree has a specific set of courses you’ll need to complete before you can graduate from University of Houston-Clear Lake. Learn more about the classes that will help you complete the requirements of this degree. 


Degree Plan


Cost Information

Investigate the direction of your future with this look into the prospective costs of a degree from UHCL.


Tuition and FeesNet Price CalculatorFee Schedule Calculator


Deadlines for Applying

  • Freshman Deadlines
  • Fall

    Priority - February 1
    Final - August 1

  • Spring

    Priority - September 1
    Final - December 1

  • Summer 2018
    Priority Deadline (Summer I and II)– May 21
    Final (Summer I) – June 4
    Final (Summer II) – July 9

  • Transfer Deadlines
  • Spring 2018
    Priority – January 4
    Final – January 16
  • Summer 2018
    Priority Deadline (Summer I and II)– May 21
    Final (Summer I) – June 4
    Final (Summer II) – July 9
  • Fall 2018
    Priority – August 13
    Final – August 27

Summer I and II Priority Application deadline for undergraduate transfer, former and non-degree seeking undergraduate/graduate students. Students who apply after this date must submit all required documentation with their paper application in the Office of Admissions and will be processed for late registration.
  • International Deadlines
  • Fall

    Priority – March 1
    Final  – June 1

  • Spring

    Priority – August 1
    Final – November 1

  • Summer

    Priority – February 1
    Final – April 20

Students interested in qualifying for scholarships &/or applying for visas outside the U.S. should apply and submit the application documents/test scores by the priority deadline

International freshmen applicants will not be accepted for Summer semester.


Locations

  University of Houston-Clear Lake
 

University of Houston-Clear Lake

2700 Bay Area Blvd
Houston, TX 77058
Phone: 281-283-7600

Learn More


Women's and Gender Studies Certificate Faculty

Jennifer Arney
Jennifer Arney

Jennifer Arney

Assistant Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3441
Email: Arney@UHCL.edu
Office: Bayou 2121

Faculty Bio

Andrea Baldwin
Andrea Baldwin

Andrea Baldwin

Lecturer of Communication,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3479
Email: baldwin@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor central 1307.14

Faculty Bio

Diana Bowen
Diana Bowen

Diana Bowen

Assistant Professor of Communication,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3354
Email: bowend@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2233.04

Faculty Bio

Christina Cedillo
Christina Cedillo

Christina Cedillo

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3483
Email: cedilloc@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.12

Faculty Bio

Sarah Costello
Sarah Costello

Sarah Costello

Assistant Professor of Art History,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3342
Email: costello@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.10

Faculty Bio

Maria Curtis
Maria Curtis

Maria Curtis

Associate Professor in Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3429
Email: Curtis@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617

Faculty Bio

Patricia Droz
Patricia Droz

Patricia Droz

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3481
Email: droz@uhcl.edu
Office: A1307

Faculty Bio

Joanna Eleftheriou

Joanna Eleftheriou

Assistant Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3480
Email: eleftheriou@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor Central 1307.15

Faculty Bio

Anne Gessler
Anne Gessler

Anne Gessler

Lecturer of Humanities,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3471
Email: gessler@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor Central 1307.02

Faculty Bio

Angela Howard
Angela Howard

Angela Howard

Professor of History,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3369
Email: howarda@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.03

Faculty Bio

Beth Hentges
Beth Hentges

Beth Hentges

Department Chair of Psychology and Associate Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3308
Email: hentges@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.05

Faculty Bio

Amanda Johnston
Amanda Johnston

Amanda Johnston

Assistant Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3393
Email: johnston@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.14

Faculty Bio

Heather Kanenberg
Heather Kanenberg

Heather Kanenberg

Associate Professor of Social Work,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3458
Email: kanenbergh@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617

Faculty Bio

Elizabeth Klett
Elizabeth Klett

Elizabeth Klett

Associate Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3445
Email: Klette@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Bldg. 1508.16

Faculty Bio

Christine Kovic
Christine Kovic

Christine Kovic

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3365
Email: kovic@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.04

Faculty Bio

Amy Lucas
Amy Lucas

Amy Lucas

Assistant Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3413
Email: Lucas@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.04

Faculty Bio

Anne Marcoline
Anne Marcoline

Anne Marcoline

Assistant Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3448
Email: Marcoline@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.03

Faculty Bio

Beth Merfishc

Beth Merfish

Assistant Professor of Art History,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3432
Email: merfish@uhcl.edu
Office: B2121.12

Faculty Bio

Desdamona Rios
Desdamona Rios

Desdamona Rios

Assistant Professor of Social Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3457
Email: rios@uhcl.edu
Office:  Bayou 2121.06

Faculty Bio

Wanalee Romero
Wanalee Romero

Wanalee Romero

Lecturer of Literature and First-Year Experience,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3423
Email: romero@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.10

Faculty Bio

Christal Seahorn
Christal Seahorn

Christal R. Seahorn

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3444
Email: seahorn@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.07

Faculty Bio

Shreerekha Subramanian
Shreerekha Subramanian

Shreerekha Subramanian

Department Chair of Liberal Arts and Associate Professor of Humanities,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3430
Email: subramanian@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.15

Faculty Bio

Joyce Taylor
Joyce Taylor

Joyce Taylor

Coordinator HSH Internship and Lecturer of Behavioral Science,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3377
Email: taylorj@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1125.02

Faculty Bio

Christine Walther
Christine Walther

Christine Walther

Assistant Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3463
Email: walther@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2233.02

Faculty Bio