COVID-19 Info : Mask Up, Vax Up, Get Tested, Self-Report

Women's and Gender Studies Certificate

Gain New Perspectives on Gender

The Women’s and Gender Studies program at UHCL was founded in 1975 to engage students in studying how gender shapes the world around us. Our diverse curriculum focuses on the experience of women in national and international contexts, and emphasizes intersections of race, ethnicity, nationality, age, class, disability, and sexuality as analytical categories. Over two dozen WGST faculty are affiliated with programs such as anthropology, art, communication, history, humanities, literature, psychology, social work, sociology, and writing. Requiring only three courses to complete, this interdisciplinary certificate is designed to be paired with any undergraduate or graduate degree program.

Build Skills and Insights for Any Career

Our students learn many marketable skills, including critical thinking, writing, public speaking, and diversity training. They gain global and interdisciplinary perspectives in our courses that help them achieve their goals in their major fields, and make them compassionate and well-informed citizens of the international community. Students who do a certificate in WGST are prepared to work in for-profit and non-profit organizations, human rights and social help agencies, as well as for graduate study in a variety of fields. 

Certificate Plan Frequently Asked Questions (PDF)



Cost Information

Investigate the direction of your future with this look into the prospective costs of a degree from UHCL.


Tuition and FeesNet Price CalculatorFee Schedule Calculator


Deadlines for Applying

  • Freshman Deadlines
  • Fall

    Priority - July 15 
    Final - August 1 

  • Spring

    Priority - November 1
    Final - December 1 

  • Summer

    Priority - March 1
    Final (Summer Session I & II) - May 1 


  • Transfer Deadlines
  • Spring 2022
    Priority - January 4
    Final - January 14
  • Summer 2022
    Priority - May 1
    Final (Summer Session I) - May 25
    Final (Summer Session II) - July 1
  • Fall 2022
    Priority - August 12
    Final - August 17

  • International Deadlines
  • Fall

    Priority – March 1
    Final  – June 1

  • Spring

    Priority – August 1
    Final – November 1

  • Summer*

    Priority – February 1
    Final – April 20

Students interested in qualifying for scholarships &/or applying for visas outside the U.S. should apply and submit the application documents/test scores by the priority deadline

*International freshmen applicants will not be accepted for Summer semester.


Locations

University of Houston-Clear Lake

University of Houston-Clear Lake

2700 Bay Area Blvd
Houston, TX 77058
Phone: 281-283-7600

About UHCL


Women's and Gender Studies Certificate Faculty

Jennifer Arney
Jennifer Arney

Jennifer Arney

Associate Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3441
Email: Arney@UHCL.edu
Office: Bayou 2121

Jennifer Arney Faculty Bio

Christina Cedillo
Christina Cedillo

Christina Cedillo

Assistant Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3483
Email: cedilloc@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.12

Christina Cedillo Faculty Bio

Sarah Costello
Sarah Costello

Sarah Costello

Associate Professor of Art History,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3342
Email: costello@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.10

Sarah Costello Faculty Bio

Maria Curtis
Maria Curtis

Maria Curtis

Associate Professor in Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3429
Email: Curtis@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 2109.09

Maria Curtis Faculty Bio

Joyce Delores Taylor
Joyce Taylor

Joyce Taylor

Coordinator HSH Internship and Senior Lecturer of Behavioral Science,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3377
Email: taylorj@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1125.02

Joyce Taylor Faculty Bio

Anne Gessler
Anne Gessler

Anne Gessler

Coordinator of UHCL Common Reader Program, Clinical Associate Professor of First-Year Seminar and Humanities ,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3471
Email: gessler@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor Central 1307.02

Anne Gessler Faculty Bio

Mary Hedengren
Mary Hedengren

Mary Hedengren

Lecturer,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3496
Email: Hedengren@UHCL.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.11

Mary Hedengren Faculty Bio

Beth Hentges
Beth Hentges

Beth Hentges

Department Chair of Psychology and Associate Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3308
Email: hentges@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.05

Beth Hentges Faculty Bio

Amanda Johnston
Amanda Johnston

Amanda Johnston

Associate Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3393
Email: johnston@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 2109.06

Amanda Johnston Faculty Bio

Heather Kanenberg
Heather Kanenberg

Heather Kanenberg

Associate Professor of Social Work,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3458
Email: kanenbergh@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617

Heather Kanenberg Faculty Bio

Angela Kelling
Angela Kelling

Angela Kelling

Assistant Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3488
Email: KellingA@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617-14

Angela Kelling Faculty Bio

Elizabeth Klett
Elizabeth Klett

Elizabeth Klett

Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3445
Email: Klette@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2529.09

Elizabeth Klett Faculty Bio

Anna Klyueva
Anna Klyueva

Anna Klyueva

Associate Professor of Communication/Public Relations,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3442
Email: klyueva@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2529.12

Anna Klyueva Faculty Bio

Christine Kovic
Christine Kovic

Christine Kovic

Professor of Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3365
Email: kovic@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.04

Christine Kovic Faculty Bio

Isabelle Kusters
Isabelle Kusters, Ph.D., MPH

Isabelle Kusters

Assistant Professor, Exercise and Health Sciences,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3378
Email: kusters@uhcl.edu
Office: Recreation & Wellness Building 249

Isabelle Kusters Faculty Bio

Amy Lucas
Amy Lucas

Amy Lucas

Associate Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3413
Email: Lucas@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.04

Amy Lucas Faculty Bio

Anne Marcoline
Anne Marcoline

Anne Marcoline

Associate Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3448
Email: Marcoline@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.03

Anne Marcoline Faculty Bio

Jennifer Maritza McCauley

Jennifer Maritza McCauley

Assistant Professor of Literature and Creative Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3372
Email: McCauley@uhcl.edu
Office: B2617.07

Jennifer Maritza McCauley Faculty Bio

Beth Merfish

Beth Merfish

Associate Professor of Art History,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3432
Email: merfish@uhcl.edu
Office: B2121.12

Beth Merfish Faculty Bio

Georgina Moreno
Georgina Moreno

Georgina Moreno

Assistant Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3384
Email: morenog@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 2109.17

Georgina Moreno Faculty Bio

Desdamona Rios
Desdamona Rios

Desdamona Rios

Associate Professor of Social Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3457
Email: rios@uhcl.edu
Office:  Bayou 2121.06

Desdamona Rios Faculty Bio

Wanalee Romero
Wanalee Romero

Wanalee Romero

Clinical Associate Professor, Director of First-Year Seminar Program, Director of Women's and Gender Studies ,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3423
Email: romero@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.10

Wanalee Romero Faculty Bio

Christal Seahorn
Christal Seahorn

Christal R. Seahorn

Associate Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3444
Email: seahorn@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.27

Christal R. Seahorn Faculty Bio

Shreerekha Subramanian
Shreerekha Subramanian

Shreerekha Subramanian

Department Chair of Liberal Arts and Associate Professor of Humanities,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3430
Email: subramanian@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.18

Shreerekha Subramanian Faculty Bio

Christine Walther
Christine Walther

Christine Walther

Associate Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3463
Email: walther@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2233.10

Christine Walther Faculty Bio