Skip Top Navigation

Quality Enhancement Plan 2022

The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) is the component of the accreditation process that reflects and affirms the commitment of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to the enhancement of the quality of higher education and to the proposition that student learning is at the heart of the mission of all institutions of higher learning.

The University of Houston-Clear Lake's 2022 Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) for the University of Houston-Clear Lake, Quality Enhancement Plan: Becoming Aware, Cultural Interactions at UHCL, seeks to prepare students to thrive in an increasingly diverse global environment where the ability to adapt and be engaging, while appreciating diversity in all forms, represent marketable skills that will prepare students for whatever the future may hold. The QEP complements our strategic plan as it is learner-focused, embraces diversity, creates a service culture, and fosters adaptability.

QEP Advisory Committee


The QEP Advisory Committee is in place to oversee the implementation and refinement of the QEP topic, Becoming Aware: Cultural Interactions at UHCL through collaboration with university stakeholders. The QEP Advisory Committee will review the assessments annually in order to provide data-informed decisions about the progress and continuation of the work of the QEP.

QEP Advisory Committee Members

  • Co-Chair (Faculty) - Leroy Robinson
  • Co-Chair (Division of Student Affairs) - Patrick Cardenas
  • Co-Chair (Administrator) - QEP Director - ex officio - Tammy Braswell

Faculty Members

  • Comeka Anderson Diaz
  • Randy Seevers
  • Ariful Bhuiyan
  • Soma Datta
  • Debra Clark
  • Jennifer Grace
  • Grace Fang Yu-Buck

Other Members

  • Office of Diversity and Inclusion Representative - Brice Yates
  • Center for Faculty Development Representative - Robert Bartsch
  • Library Representative - Chloris Yue
  • Strategic Enrollment Management Representative - Kara Hadley-Shakya
  • Division of Student Affairs Representative - Matthew Perry
  • University Staff Association Representative - Fran Davis
  • Student Representative - Joshua Lyman
  • Alumni Association Representative - Estella Gillette
  • Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/SACSCOC Liaison - ex officio - Kathryn Matthew
  • Executive Director, Planning and Assessment - ex officio - Pamelyn Shefman