About the Dean of Students

Mission

The Office of the Dean of Students is committed to providing a student-centered, co-curricular atmosphere that enhances the academic mission of the University, and embraces the belief that learning is not confined solely within traditional classroom boundaries. In choosing UHCL, we hold students to the viewpoint that they have become a part of our community of scholars. As a part of the UHCL experience, we expect students to make academics and being involved their highest priorities.

Through the programs, services, and interactions provided by the Division of Student Services, students are expected to become citizens, dynamic leaders, and individuals who are guided by sound ethical decision making. We are steadfast in our philosophy to challenge and support UHCL students to broaden their world view in a campus culture that respects individual differences. The Dean of Students staff is responsive to student needs and interests.

Vision Statement

The Office of the Dean of Students seeks to inspire students to engage and succeed in their individual pursuit of learning as they transform into dynamic leaders. In addition, within the university community, we seek to foster human dignity through acts of civility, accountability and respect.

Our Staff

  David Rachita
 

Dean of Students
Phone: 281-283-2568
Rachita@uhcl.edu 

  Iliana Melendez
 

Associate Dean of Students
Phone: 281-283-2618
Melendezib@uhcl.edu

  Amy Snyder
 

Director of Student Housing and Residential Life
Phone: 281-283-2615
Snyder@uhcl.edu

  Kay Brown
 

Staff Assistant
Phone: 281-283-2616
BrownKay@uhcl.edu 

  Kristi Randolph Simon
 

SAC Associate Director
Phone: 281-283-2451
RandolphKristi@uhcl.edu 

  Kent Case
 

SAC Coordinator
Phone: 281-283-2407
Case@uhcl.edu 

  Julie Brenengen
 

SAC Coordinator
Phone: 281-283-2613
Brenengen@uhcl.edu 

  Cassrondra Dreiling
 

SAC Coordinator
Phone: 281-283-2617
Dreiling@uhcl.edu 

Contact
  • Dean of Students

    Phone: 281-283-2567
    Email: deanofstudents@uhcl.edu

    SSCB 1201
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 195
    Houston, TX 77058-1002

    Office hours:
    Monday - Thursday, 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.
    Friday, 8 a.m. - 12 p.m.

    Please call ahead during holidays and semester breaks.

    UHCLCareer Facebook