COVID-19 Info : Mask Up, Vax Up, Get Tested, Self-Report

Minor in Women's and Gender Studies

Gain New Perspectives on Gender

The Women's and Gender Studies program at UHCL was founded in 1975 to engage students in studying how gender shapes the world around us. Our diverse curriculum focuses on the experience of women in national and international contexts, and emphasizes intersections of race, ethnicity, nationality, age, class, disability, and sexuality as analytical categories. Over two dozen WGST faculty are affiliated with programs such as anthropology, art, communication, history, humanities, literature, psychology, social work, sociology, and writing.

Build Skills and Insights for Any Career

Students in this 15-hour minor learn many marketable skills, including critical thinking, writing, public speaking, and diversity training. They gain global and interdisciplinary perspectives in our courses that help them achieve their goals in their major fields, and make them compassionate and well-informed citizens of the international community. Students who minor in WGST are prepared to work in for-profit and non-profit organizations, human rights and social help agencies, as well as for graduate study in a variety of fields.

Apply for a Minor



Degree Requirements

Interested in discovering the sort of classes you’ll need to take in order to earn your degree from the College of Human Science and Humanities at University of Houston-Clear Lake? Find out now.

Minor Plan

Students wishing to declare a minor must meet with an Academic Advisor in the HSH Advising Office to complete the necessary paperwork and to have the Minor added to their degree plan.


Locations

University of Houston-Clear Lake

University of Houston-Clear Lake

2700 Bay Area Blvd
Houston, TX 77058
Phone: 281-283-7600

About UHCL


Minor in Women's and Gender Studies Faculty

Karen Alexander
Karen Alexander

Karen Alexander

Director of Nursing, Assistant Professor,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-212-1627
Email: alexanderk@uhcl.edu
Office: HSB 226

Karen Alexander Faculty Bio

Jennifer Arney
Jennifer Arney

Jennifer Arney

Associate Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3441
Email: Arney@UHCL.edu
Office: Bayou 2121

Jennifer Arney Faculty Bio

Christina Cedillo
Christina V. Cedillo

Christina Cedillo

Associate Professor of Writing and Rhetoric,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3483
Email: cedilloc@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.12

Christina Cedillo Faculty Bio

Maria Curtis
Maria Curtis

Maria Curtis

Associate Professor in Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3429
Email: Curtis@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 2109.09

Maria Curtis Faculty Bio

Anne Gessler
Anne Gessler

Anne Gessler

Coordinator of UHCL Common Reader Program, Clinical Associate Professor of First-Year Seminar and Humanities ,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3471
Email: gessler@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor Central 1307.02

Anne Gessler Faculty Bio

Beth Hentges
Beth Hentges

Beth Hentges

Associate Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3308
Email: hentges@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.05

Beth Hentges Faculty Bio

Amanda Johnston
Amanda Johnston

Amanda Johnston

Associate Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3393
Email: johnston@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 2109.06

Amanda Johnston Faculty Bio

Elizabeth Klett
Elizabeth Klett

Elizabeth Klett

Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3445
Email: Klette@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2529.09

Elizabeth Klett Faculty Bio

Christine Kovic
Christine Kovic

Christine Kovic

Professor of Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3365
Email: kovic@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.04

Christine Kovic Faculty Bio

Amy Lucas
Amy Lucas

Amy Lucas

Associate Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3413
Email: Lucas@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.04

Amy Lucas Faculty Bio

Anne Marcoline
Anne Marcoline

Anne Marcoline

Associate Professor of Literature,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3448
Email: Marcoline@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.03

Anne Marcoline Faculty Bio

Desdamona Rios
Desdamona Rios

Desdamona Rios

Associate Professor of Social Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3457
Email: rios@uhcl.edu
Office:  Bayou 2121.06

Desdamona Rios Faculty Bio

Wanalee Romero
Wanalee Romero

Wanalee Romero

Clinical Associate Professor, Director of First-Year Seminar Program, Director of Women's and Gender Studies ,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3423
Email: romero@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.10

Wanalee Romero Faculty Bio

Christal Seahorn
Christal Seahorn

Christal R. Seahorn

Associate Professor of Writing,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3444
Email: seahorn@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.27

Christal R. Seahorn Faculty Bio

Shreerekha Subramanian
Shreerekha Subramanian

Shreerekha Subramanian

Associate Professor of Humanities,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3430
Email: subramanian@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.18

Shreerekha Subramanian Faculty Bio

Joyce Taylor
Joyce Taylor

Joyce Taylor

Coordinator HSH Internship and Senior Lecturer of Behavioral Science,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3377
Email: taylorj@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1125.02

Joyce Taylor Faculty Bio

Christine Walther
Christine Walther

Christine Walther

Associate Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3463
Email: walther@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2233.10

Christine Walther Faculty Bio