Business Administration MBA with a Concentration in Management of Technology- Leadership

Put Your Technology Abilities to Good Use with an MBA

Companies who have a grasp on the growth and development of technology are destined to succeed now and in the future. Secure a great job or that next promotion by working toward a concentration in Management of Technology – Leadership from the UHCL College of Business. Partake of classes that help you manage the direction and flow of technology in a company, while also improving your skills as an entrepreneur and ethical leader.

A Convenient MBA for the Modern World

Your time is a precious commodity, so you should love the accelerated MBA program here at UHCL. Each class is only 8 weeks long, which reduces the time it takes to finish our 36 credit-hour program*:

  • Full-time, 14 months: 2 courses per 8-week term across the fall, spring and summer semesters
  • Part-time, 28 months: 1 courses per 8-week tern across the fall, spring and summer semesters

Because the demands of your busy work schedule could make regular classroom attendance difficult, we've devised two class formats for you:

  • A completely online option; or
  • A "hybrid" option where you take half of each class online and take the other half in a classroom.

And for students who meet certain requirements, you can receive a waiver from taking any sort of standardized test as part of your enrollment.

*One pre-requisite foundation course may be required.

Your Professors Want You to Prosper

You'll also learn from stellar professors, all of whom have achieved success in the classroom and business world. And because they want to pass on their knowledge to you, you'll never see a graduate assistant teaching one of your classes.

2016-2017 Texas-Resident Tuition Rates: $1,691 for one, three-hour course*

*Students receive a tuition and fee break by taking more courses per semester. Use the tuition calculator to compare how tuition and fees vary the more courses you take per semester. The calculated tuition and fee total is an estimate and may be subject to change. Excludes special fees that do not affect all students.

Request InformationHow to ApplyVisit


Admission Requirements

  • MBA, MHA*, MHA/MBA*, MA-HRM, MS-Envr Mgmt, MS-MIS**
  • Admission Deadline

    Standard Graduate Admission Deadline

  • Application
    A standard university application is required.
  • Requirements

    Criteria that require submission of a standardized test score: Less than 3.000 cumulative GPA on the last 60 hours of coursework and submission of GMAT score (GRE acceptable for MHA, HRM and ENVR MGMT)

    Criteria that waive a standardized test requirement:

    • 3.000 cumulative GPA on the last 60 hours of coursework and Earned a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university in a country where English is the native language 

    -OR-

    • Earned a graduate degree or professional degree from a country where English is the native language or a Ph.D., M.D., Ed.D., D.D.S. or J.D. from accredited U.S. institution (or U.S. licensure)
    *Applications for the MHA and MHA/MBA must also submit (1) 3 letters of recommendation; (2) current resume; and (3) statement of career goals
    ** Test Score Waivers for MS Accounting and MS MIS will be effective for Spring 2018 admissions.


Degree Requirements

Each course of study in the College of Business here at University of Houston-Clear Lake has specific degree requirements you must fulfill to graduate. Find out more today.
Degree Plan


Cost Information

Start your college budget today with a look at possible costs for your degree from the UHCL College of Business.


Tuition and FeesNet Price CalculatorFee Schedule Calculator


Deadlines for Applying

  • Graduate Deadlines
  • Spring 2018

    New Degree Seeking - December 1
    Priority* - January 4
    Final* and Session Start - January 16

  • Summer 2018

    New Degree Seeking - May 1 (Some programs may not apply)

  • Fall 2018

    New Degree Seeking - August 1
    Priority* - August 13
    Final* and Session Start - August 27

*Former/Non-degree seeking/Certificate Graduate Students applicants who apply after the priority deadline can expect to go through late registration. $50 late registration fee will be assessed.


  • International Deadlines
  • Fall

    Priority – March 1
    Final  – June 1

  • Spring*

    Priority – August 1
    Final – November 1

  • Summer

    Priority – February 1
    Final – April 1

*The application deadline for Spring 2018 Undergraduate applicants has been extended to December 13, 2017. Students who are in the U.S. and interested in applying for the Spring 2018 semester should contact dumbre@uhcl.edu for the application and application requirements. Students will not be able to apply online for the Spring 2018 semester.

Students interested in qualifying for scholarships &/or applying for visas outside the U.S. should apply and submit the application documents/test scores by the priority deadline

Freshman will not be accepted for Summer semester


Locations

  University of Houston-Clear Lake
 

University of Houston-Clear Lake

2700 Bay Area Blvd
Houston, TX 77058
Phone: 281-283-7600

Learn More

  UHCL Online
 

UHCL Online

Bayou Building, Room 1406
2700 Bay Area Blvd
Houston, TX 77058
Phone: 281-212-1611

Make the most of a hectic schedule and study from home or the office through UHCL Online, offering the same level of excellence for more than 20 undergraduate, graduate and certificate programs.

Learn More

  Hybrid
 

Hybrid

Hybrid programs combine the flexibility and convenience of online learning with the benefits of in-person instruction.

Learn More


Accreditations and Distinctions

aacsb University of Houston-Clear Lake is an accredited member of AACSB International—The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.


Business Administration MBA with a Concentration in Management of Technology- Leadership Faculty

Dina Abdelzaher
Dina Abdelzaher

Dina Abdelzaher

Assistant Professor of Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3248
Email: abdelzaher@uhcl.edu
Office: B3321

Faculty Bio

Anne Anders
anders

Anne Anders

Assistant Professor of Economics,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3255
Email: anders@uhcl.edu

Faculty Bio

Femi Ayadi
Ayadi

Femi Ayadi

Associate Professor of Healthcare Administration,
Business

Contact number: 281-212-1712
Email: AyadiM@UHCL.edu
Office: 2151 W. Holcombe, Houston, TX, 77030, Suite 120, Room 125

Faculty Bio

Ken Black
Ken Black

Ken Black

Professor of Decision Sciences,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3239
Email: Black@UHCL.edu
Office: B3321

Faculty Bio

Ashish Chandra
Ashish Chandra

Ashish Chandra

Professor of Healthcare Administration,
Business

Contact number: 281-212-1717
Email: chandra@uhcl.edu
Office: 2125 W. Holcombe, Houston, TX 77030, Suite 120, Room 127-A

Faculty Bio

Stephen Cotten
Stephen Cotten

Stephen Cotten

Associate Professor of Economics,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3207
Email: Cotten@UHCL.edu
Office: B3121

Faculty Bio

Phillip Decker
Phillip Decker

Phillip Decker

Professor of Healthcare Administration,
Business

Contact number: 281-212-1715
Email: decker@uhcl.edu
Office: Suite 120, Room 130, 2151 W. Holcombe Houston, TX 77030

Faculty Bio

Hui Du
Hui Du

Hui Du

Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3144
Email: duhui1@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237, Room 5

Faculty Bio

Roger Durand
Roger Durand

Roger E. Durand

Professor of Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3260
Email: durand@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3121

Faculty Bio

Gene Easley
Gene Easley

Gene Easley

Lecturer in Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3129
Email: easly@uhcl.edu
Office: Student Services Building, Suite 3321, 2700 Bay Area Blvd. Houston, TX 77058

Faculty Bio

Altan Erdem
Altan Erdem

Altan S. Erdem

Professor of Marketing,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3199
Email: Erdem@UHCL.edu
Office: B3121

Faculty Bio

Vance Etnyre
Vance Etnyre

Vance Etnyre

Associate Professor of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3168
Email: etnyre@uhcl.edu
Office: Student Services Building, Suite 3202, Room 4

Faculty Bio

Kathleen Garland
Kathleen Garland

Kathleen Garland

Lecturer of Environmental Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3249
Email: garland@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3121 2700 Bay Area Blvd. Houston, TX 77058

Faculty Bio

Gokhan Gercek

Gokhan Gercek

Associate Professor of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3178
Email: Gercek@UHCL.edu
Office: S3202

Faculty Bio

Lisa Gossett

Lisa B. Gossett

Associate Professor of Environmental Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3257
Email: gossett@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3321, 2700 Bay Area Blvd. Houston, TX 77058

Faculty Bio

Vicky Gu

Vicky Gu

Assistant Professor of Decision Sciences,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3205
Email: guvicky@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3121, Room 18

Faculty Bio

Mike Hanna
Michael Hanna

Michael Hanna

Professor of Decision Sciences,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3201
Email: Hanna@UHCL.edu
Office: B3121

Faculty Bio

Maggie Hao

Jun (Maggie) Hao

Assistant Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3163
Email: hao@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Rajib Hasan
Rajib Hasan

Rajib Hasan

Assistant Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3162
Email: hasan@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Cynthia Heagy
Cynthia Heagy

Cynthia D. Heagy

Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3043
Email: heagy@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237, Room 4

Faculty Bio

Amanda Hinojosa
Amanda Hinojosa

Amanda Hinojosa

Assistant Professor of Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3243
Email: hinojosaa@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3321, 2700 Bay Area Blvd. Houston, TX 77058

Faculty Bio

Sehan Kim

Sehan Kim

Assistant Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3108
Email: kim@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Dorothy Kirkman
Dorothy Kirkman

Dorothy Kirkman

Interim Associate Dean,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3156
Email: kirkman@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 2111, Room 5

Faculty Bio

Raymond Khoury

Raymond Khoury

Faculty Chair and Lecturer in Healthcare Administration,
Business

Contact number: 281-212-1711
Email: khoury@uhcl.edu
Office: Suite 120, Room 135, 2151 W. Holcombe, Houston, TX 77030

Faculty Bio

Jian Lin

Jian Lin

Assistant Professor of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3167
Email: linjian@uhcl.edu
Office: Student Services Building, Suite 3202, Room 7

Faculty Bio

Dianne Love
Dianne Love

Dianne Love

Associate Professor of Healthcare Administration ,
Business

Contact number: 281-212-1716
Email: love@uhcl.edu
Office: Suite 120, Room 132, 2151 W. Holcombe, Houston, TX 77030

Faculty Bio

Aleksey Martynov

Aleksey Martynov

Assistant Professor of Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3245
Email: martynov@uhcl.edu
Office: 2700 Bay Area Boulevard Houston, Texas 77058 Bayou Building, Suite 3321

Faculty Bio

Clifton Mayfield
Clifton Mayfield

Clifton Mayfield

Associate Professor of Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3258
Email: mayfield@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3321, Room 20

Faculty Bio

Pat McCormack
Joseph McCormack

Joseph McCormack

Associate Professor of Finance,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3217
Email: mccormack@uhcl.edu
Office: BB Suite 3121, Room 26

Faculty Bio

Michael Lacina
Michael Lacina

Michael Lacina

Faculty Chair and Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3171
Email: lacina@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Conni Lehmann
Constance Lehmann

Constance M. Lehmann

Associate Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3157
Email: lehmann@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Michael Lacina
Michael Lacina

Michael Lacina

Faculty Chair and Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3171
Email: lacina@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Barry Marks
Barry Marks

Barry Marks

Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3214
Email: marks@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Tim Michael
Timothy Michael

Timothy Michael

Associate Professor of Finance,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3193
Email: michael@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building Suite 3121, Room 33

Faculty Bio

Jordan Mitchell

Jordan P. Mitchell

Assistant Professor of Healthcare Administration,
Business

Contact number: 281-212-1714
Email: mitchellj@uhcl.edu
Office: 2151 W. Holcombe, Houston, TX 77030

Faculty Bio

Jason Murasko
Jason Murasko

Jason Murasko

Associate Professor of Economics,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3107
Email: muraskoj@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3121, Room 22

Faculty Bio

Prabhashi Nanayakkara

Prabhashi Nanayakkara

Visiting Lecturer of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3142
Email: nanayakkaras@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 3202.13

Faculty Bio

Shanshan Pan

Shanshan Pan

Assistant Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3165
Email: pan@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Ivelina Pavlova
Ivelina Pavlova

Ivelina Pavlova

Associate Professor of Finance,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3208
Email: pavlova@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building Suite 3121, Room 30

Faculty Bio

Grady Perdue
Grady Perdue

Grady Perdue

Professor of Finance,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3213
Email: perdue@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3121, Room 27

Faculty Bio

Mohammad Rob
Mohammad Rob

Mohammad Rob

Associate Professor of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3191
Email: rob@uhcl.edu
Office: Student Services Building Suite 3202, Room 9

Faculty Bio

Leroy Robinson
Leroy Robinson

Leroy Robinson, Jr.

Associate Professor of Marketing,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3209
Email: robinsonjr@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3121, Room 14

Faculty Bio

Naveed Saleem
Naveed Saleem

Naveed Saleem

Faculty Chair and Professor of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3202
Email: saleem@uhcl.edu
Office: Student Services Building, Suite 3202, Room 5

Faculty Bio

Mark Sherman
Mark Sherman

Mark R. Sherman

Associate Professor of Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3242
Email: sherman@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3321, Room 14

Faculty Bio

Haeyoung Shin
Haeyoung Shin

Haeyoung Shin

Associate Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3166
Email: shinha@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Susan Sorensen

Susan Sorensen

Associate Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3160
Email: sorensen@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237, Room 8

Faculty Bio

Douglas Steel
Douglas Steel

Douglas Steel

Assistant Professor of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3189
Email: steel@uhcl.edu
Office: Student Services Building, Suite 3202, Room 11

Faculty Bio

Nanfei Sun

Nanfei Sun

Visiting Assistant Professor of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3190
Email: sun@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 3202.12

Faculty Bio

Jay Tombaugh
Jay Tombaugh

Jay R. Tombaugh

Associate Professor of Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3244
Email: tombaugh@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3321, Room 16

Faculty Bio

Van Tran
Hien Tran

Hien (Van) Tran

Professor of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3203
Email: tran@uhcl.edu
Office: Student Services Building Suite 3202, Room 3

Faculty Bio

Alix Valenti
Alix Valenti

Alix Valenti

Professor of Legal Studies and Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3159
Email: valenti@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3321, Room 16

Faculty Bio

Troy Voelker

Troy Voelker

Assistant Professor of Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3134
Email: voelker@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3321, Room 18

Office hours:
Monday, 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Friday, 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Faculty Bio

L. Jean Walker
Jean Walker

Jean Walker

Professor of Marketing,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3194
Email: walker@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3321

Faculty Bio

Jeff Whitworth
Jeffrey Whitworth

Jeffrey Whitworth

Associate Professor of Finance,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3218
Email: whitworthj@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building Suite 3121, Room 32

Faculty Bio

Melissa Williams
Melissa Williams

Melissa A. Williams

Faculty Chair of Decision Sciences, Economics, Finance and Marketing and Associate Professor of Finance ,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3211
Email: williamsmeli@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3121 Room 29

Faculty Bio

Kevin Wooten
Kevin Wooten

Kevin Wooten

Faculty Chair and Professor of Management,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3236
Email: wooten@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3321, Room 10, 2700 Bay Area Blvd. Houston, TX 77058

Faculty Bio

Michael Wu

Michael Yu-Chi Wu

Visiting Assistant Professor of Management Information Systems,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3169
Email: wum@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 3202.2

Faculty Bio

Randall Xu

Randall Xu

Associate Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3145
Email: xuzhao@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237, Room 6

Faculty Bio

Lin Yi

Lin (Libby) Yi

Assistant Professor of Accounting,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3176
Email: yil@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou Building, Suite 3237

Faculty Bio

Faiza Zalila
Faiza Zalila

Faiza Zalila

Associate Professor of Decision Sciences,
Business

Contact number: 281-283-3187
Email: Zalila@UHCL.edu
Office: B3121

Faculty Bio