COVID-19 Info : Mask Up, Vax Up, Get Tested, Self-Report

Department of Physical and Applied Sciences

Turn Science into Action and a Career

It's important to study scientific theories in a classroom. But to really bring science to life, you need to explore those theories in the physical world to help them become principles with concrete purpose for everyday life. We recommend you choose a degree program from the Department of Physical and Applied Sciences in the College of Science and Engineering at the University of Houston-Clear Lake. You will explore theories and then create practical applications and technology with key techniques from physics, chemistry, industrial hygiene or safety.

Give Your Education the Attention It Deserves

Throughout your coursework in the Department of Physical and Applied Sciences, you’ll enjoy small class sizes taught by faculty who are dedicated to your success. They will help you address real-world challenges with tangible solutions that come from experiments rooted in the scientific method. You will also receive critical guidance for your career, whether you choose a job in industry, research, education or consulting – or you seek your own educational path toward graduate school.

Programs and Degrees

Physics

Degrees Offered

Learn More About the Physics Program


Contact

Dr. Paul Withey, Program Chair
Phone: 281-283-3799
Email: Withey@uhcl.edu

Occupational Safety and Health

Degrees Offered

Learn More About the Occupational Safety and Health Program


Contact

Dr. Robert N. Phalen, Program Chair
Phone: 281-283-3753
Email: phalen@uhcl.edu

Minors

Contact

  •  

    Department of Physical and Applied Sciences


    Dr. Magdy Akladios
    Department Chair
    Phone: 281-283-3744
    Email: akladios@uhcl.edu

    Maria Rodriguez
    Administrative Assistant
    Phone: 281-283-3738
    Email: rodriguezm@uhcl.edu

    Theresa Maginnis
    Science Lab Technician
    Phone: 281-283-3739
    Email: maginnis@uhcl.edu




    Office of Admissions

    Phone: 281-283-2500
    Fax: 281-283-2522
    Email: admissions@uhcl.edu

    SSCB 1.101
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 13
    Houston, TX 77058-1002

    Office Hours:
    Mon-Fri, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.