Behavioral Sciences Program

Program Overview/Mission

What is a degree in Behavioral Sciences?
A degree in Behavioral Sciences provides a multidisciplinary approach to study human behavior and societal problems that are too complex to be fully understood by one academic discipline.

At UHCL, Behavioral Sciences include coursework in:

  • Anthropology
  • Criminology
  • Geography
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology


Program Degrees

Bachelor of Science
The undergraduate degree in Behavioral Sciences enables you to combine courses from an array of disciplines including anthropology, criminology, geography, psychology, social work and sociology into one degree. You will learn theoretical coursework in behavioral sciences and receive a deeper knowledge of at least two of these disciplines

Admission Requirements

Program Faculty

Stephen Cherry
Stephen Cherry

Stephen Cherry

Associate Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3434
Email: cherry@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1508.15

Stephen Cherry Faculty Bio

Maria Curtis
Maria Curtis

Maria Curtis

Associate Professor in Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3429
Email: Curtis@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 2109.09

Maria Curtis Faculty Bio

Kimberly Dodson
Kimberly Dodson

Kimberly Dodson

Associate Professor, Criminology Program Director,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3492
Email: dodsonk@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.02

Kimberly Dodson Faculty Bio

Giazú Enciso Domínguez
Giazú Enciso Domínguez

Giazú Enciso Domínguez

Assistant Professor of Critical Social Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Email: giazuenciso@uhcl.edu
Office: B2329.13

Giazú Enciso Domínguez Faculty Bio

Hae Rim (Helen) Jin
Hae Rim (Helen) Jin

Hae Rim (Helen) Jin

Assistant Professor of Criminology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3459
Email: jin@uhcl.edu
Office: Arbor Central 1307.19

Hae Rim (Helen) Jin Faculty Bio

Heather Kanenberg
Heather Kanenberg

Heather Kanenberg

Associate Professor of Social Work,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3458
Email: kanenbergh@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617

Heather Kanenberg Faculty Bio

Angela Kelling
Angela Kelling

Angela Kelling

Assistant Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3488
Email: KellingA@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617-14

Angela Kelling Faculty Bio

Christine Kovic
Christine Kovic

Christine Kovic

Professor of Anthropology and Cross-Cultural Studies,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3365
Email: kovic@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.04

Christine Kovic Faculty Bio

Jeff Lash
Jeff Lash

Jeff Lash

Associate Professor of Geography,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3417
Email: Lash@uhcl.edu
Office: SSB2109.02

Jeff Lash Faculty Bio

Amy Lucas
Amy Lucas

Amy Lucas

Associate Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3413
Email: Lucas@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2121.04

Amy Lucas Faculty Bio

Mike McMullen
Michael McMullen

Michael McMullen

Professor of Sociology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3435
Email: McMullen@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2617.13

Michael McMullen Faculty Bio

Georgina Moreno
Georgina Moreno

Georgina Moreno

Assistant Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3384
Email: morenog@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 2109.17

Georgina Moreno Faculty Bio

Joyce Delores Taylor
Joyce Taylor

Joyce Taylor

Coordinator HSH Internship and Senior Lecturer of Behavioral Science,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3377
Email: taylorj@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 1125.02

Joyce Taylor Faculty Bio

Christine Walther
Christine Walther

Christine Walther

Associate Professor of Psychology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3463
Email: walther@uhcl.edu
Office: Bayou 2233.10

Christine Walther Faculty Bio

Dawit Woldu
Dawitt Woldu

Dawit Woldu

Associate Professor of Anthropology,
Human Sciences and Humanities

Contact number: 281-283-3364
Email: woldu@uhcl.edu
Office: SSCB 2109.12

Dawit Woldu Faculty Bio

Curriculum and Instruction

What skills do I learn with Behavioral Sciences?
With a degree in Behavioral Sciences, you can develop skills desired by all employers:

  • Knowledge of human behavior
  • Statistical and methodological analysis
  • Understanding of diversity
  • Written communication

Student Resources

Career opportunities in Behavioral Sciences include:

  • Social and Community Service Organizations
  • Cultural Organizations
  • Governmental Service Organizations
  • Other careers that involve understanding, working with, and helping people
UHCL Career Services

Additional Information

For more information on UHCL's Behavioral Sciences program and faculty, please contact:

Dr. Christine Walther, Assistant Professor of Psychology
walther@uhcl.edu

or

Human Sciences and Humanities
Academic Advising Office
HSHadvising@uhcl.edu
281-283-3333

University of Houston - Clear Lake
2700 Bay Area Blvd.
Houston, Texas  77058-1098