President’s Distinguished Staff Awards

The Hugh P. Avery Prize – President’s Distinguished Staff Service Award was created to recognize and honor those individuals who have served the university in an exemplary manner. This is the highest honor the University of Houston-Clear Lake can bestow upon a staff employee. The first award was presented in March of 1982. In 1991, University of Houston-Clear Lake renamed the President’s Distinguished Staff Service Award to the Hugh P. Avery Prize in honor of the late Hugh P. Avery, originator of the program.

Congratulations to the 2020 Award Winners!

2020 Hugh P. Avery Prize

Javier Gutierrez, Painter II, FMC-Building Maintenance 

2020 Staff Merit Award Winners

  • Tiffany King, Associate Director, Campus Visits, Office of Admissions
  • Veronica Ortiz, Program Coordinator I, Center for Faculty Development
  • Marlene Thomas, Administrative Assistant III, Neumann Library
  • Abby Varela, Assistant Director, HR Services, Office of Human Resources