WELCOME TO THE



Promoting and sustaining a campus culture that values intellectual inquiry, scholarship, and creative engagement

2021-2022 AWARDS & RECOGNITION CELEBRATION

FACULTY DEVELOPMENT WEEK January 25th -31st

Awards will be recognized in sessions held throughout Faculty Development Week. This program provides a list of all the faculty recognized for their milestones and awards.

Number of Students Taught

Honoring faculty members who have taught 1000, 2500, 5000, & 10000 students since their hire date at UHCL

Faculty who have taught 10000+ students

Cindy Howard

Faculty who have taught 2500+ students

Femi Ayadi Ki Young Jeong Jordan Mitchell Williams Powers Patricia Trubl

Faculty who have taught 1000+ students

Jason Abshire	Heather Kanenberg	Michael LaMontagne
Christina Cedillo	Brent Kice	Lin Yi
Leslie Johnson	Anna Klyueva	Wei Wei

"Go to 11" Award

Awarded to faculty who earned 11 or more credits for activities sponsored by the Center for Faculty Development

Femi Ayadi	Youssef Hamidi	Janice Newsum
Sheila Baker	Daniel Imrecke	Lory Santiago-Vázquez
Soma Datta	Angela Kelling	Gene Shan
John Decman	Monica Khural	Christine Walther
Kent Divoll	Anna Klyueva	Omah Williams-Duncan
Giazú Enciso Dominguez	Robert Maddalozzo	Jana Willis
Jennifer Grace	Anne Marcoline	Matthias Woeckener

New Faculty Awards

Recognizing new faculty who have performed at a very high level before they apply for promotion

Teaching Award - Sachiyo Mukherji Research Award - Angela Kelling Service Award- Laura Guerrero

We thank representatives from the Council of Professors for being the selection panel for this award.

Instructional Innovation Award

Recognizing faculty for stimulating a spirit of experimentation and creativity in trying out new ideas to enhance teaching and learning in specific, practical, and generalizable ways

Daniel Imrecke
Utilization of Office 365 for a connected classroom

Nicholas Kelling

Highly engaging video content on improving student engagement in an online course

Michael LaMontagne

MicroCURE- A Course-based Research Experience in Microbiology

Xiaokun Yang Project-centre learning with OpenIC

We thank the Faculty Senate Teaching and Research Committee for being the selection panel for this award.

Texas Research & Scholarship Award

Recognizing faculty for high level of scholarship on topics concerning the state of Texas

Adam Hodges

"Nothing More nor Less than Rebellion": Rethinking Southern Labor Politics through the 1946 Houston Municipal Workers' Strike

Rebecca Huss-Keeler

Factors influencing the success of first generation, non-traditional age, Hispanic early childhood educators as university students

Lory Santiago-Vázquez

On a reef far, far away: Anthropogenic impacts following extreme storms affect sponge health and bacterial communities

We thank the Faculty Senate Teaching and Research Committee for being the selection panel for this award.

Scholarship to Improve the Academy

Recognizing faculty for high level scholarship on improving higher education

Nicholas Kelling & Angela Kelling A Multi-Faceted and Practical Analysis of Online Courses at UHCL

Haeyoung Shin, Shanshan Pan, & Michael Lacina Schools' CPA review course affiliations and success on the uniform CPA examination

Carol Carman

The relationship between faculty diversity and graduation rates in higher education

Anton Dubrovskiy/Michelle Peters

Increasing chemistry students' knowledge, confidence, and conceptual understanding of pH using collaborative computer pH simulation

ACUE

Association of College & University Educators

Faculty complete of a series of modules on effective teaching.

Active Learning

Comeka Anderson Diaz Youssef Hamidi

Creating an Inclusive & Supportive Online Learning Environment

Soma Datta Henry Newkirk

Designing Student Centered Courses

Femi Ayadi Silvana Chambers

Inclusive Teaching for Equitable Learning

Monica Khural Angela Kelling

Inspiring Inquiry and Preparing Lifelong Learners in Your Online Course
Janice Newsum

CFD Staff Appreciation Award

Awarded annually to a distinguished staff member who has shown outstanding excellence and superior performance in assisting the Center for Faculty Development in accomplishing its goals

Steven Fernandez

Client Server DB Analyst I

College Cup

Awarded annually to a UHCL college with highest faculty participation in Center for Faculty Development activities

College of Education

2021-2022 Faculty Advisory Board

Carol Carman
Neal Dugre
Leslie Gauna
Angela Kelling
Ivelina Pavlova=Stout
Lory Santiago-Vázquez
Donna Stringer
Walter Thompson

Thanks and Dedication

We express our thanks to all of the faculty members who participated in Center for Faculty Development programing throughout 2019-2020. Also, a special thank you to all of the staff members form the various departments on campus that have helped to make our offerings a success. Without your talent, support, encouragement, and participation the UHCL Center for Faculty Development could not exist.