International Education Week Committee

International Education Week Committee (IEWC) celebrates international education, global engagement, and exchange of cultures at the University of Houston clear Lake. Every year the committee plans International Education Week (IEW) for the month of November. The committee's mission is to build awareness, momentum, and understanding of global education at UHCL. Our committee has Students, Professional Staffs, and Scholars representatives from the UHCL.

Interested in joining the committee, please contact Firoj Gurung at gurung@uhcl.edu.


Chair

Firoj Gurung

Firoj Gurung

He / Him / His
Coordinator of International Student Programs
Office of Student Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
gurung@uhcl.edu

 
 

Returning Members

Brittany Hamilton

Brittany Hamilton

She / Her / Hers
Education Abroad Advisor I

Education Abroad
hamiltonbn@uhcl.edu

Cierra Davis

Cierra Davis

She / Her / Hers
Residential Life Coordinator

Hunter Residence Hall
davisci@uhcl.edu

Stephanie Holleran

Stephanie Holleran

She / Her / Hers
Senior International Student Advisor

Office of International Admissions and Programs
holleran@uhcl.edu

New Members

Andrea Alvarado

Andrea Alvarado

She / Her / Hers / Ella
Program Director

HSI-STEM Grant: Pathways to STEM Careers
alvaradoa@uhcl.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Beavers

Dr. Elizabeth Beavers

She / Her / Hers
Associate Professor of Special Education

College of Education
beaversea@uhcl.edu

Erica Njoku

Erica Njoku

She / Her / Hers
Associate Director

Office of Student Involvement and Leadership
njoku@uhcl.edu

Hana Zewdie

Hana Zewdie

She / Her / Hers
Assistant Director

Office of Student Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
zewdie@uhcl.edu

Iliana Melendez

Iliana Melendez

Ella / She / Her / Hers
Associate Dean of Students

Dean of Students Office
melendezib@uhcl.edu

Dr. Johna McClendon

Dr. Johna McClendon

She / Her / Hers
Director, International Admissions & Student Services/PDSO

Office of International Admissions and Programs
mcclendonj@uhcl.edu

Dr. Paul Withey

Dr. Paul Withey

He / Him / His
Program Chair of Physics, Associate Professor of Physics

College of Science and Engineering
withey@uhcl.edu

Dr. Rebecca Huss-Keeler

Dr. Rebecca Huss-Keeler

She / Her / Hers
Professor of Early Childhood Education

College of Education
huss@uhcl.edu

Mugdha Shah

Mugdha Shah

She / Her / Hers
Board of Directors

International Student Advisory Board
shahmu@uhcl.edu

Lisa Lima

Lisa Lima

She / Her / Hers
Global Learning & Strategy Coordinator

Office of Global Learning and Strategy
lima@uhcl.edu

Dr. Daniel Katz

Dr. Daniel Katz

He / Him / His
Coordinator, Programs and Curriculum

Diplomacy Institute
katz@uhcl.edu

 

Contact

  • Education Abroad

    Bayou Building B2123
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 225
    Houston, TX 77058-1002

    Office Hours
    Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

    Please email or call for appointments.

    Phone: 281-283-2740
    Fax: 281-226-7038
    educationabroad@uhcl.edu