# **FSSC Meeting Notes**

# March 21, 2024

### Parking and Traffic Sub-Committee-Dr. Nelson Carter

- Ms. Christine Paul from University Staff Association explained the Spirit Award for Staff which is a designated parking place near their work building.
  - New bollards and signs were erected in the parking lots closest to each building so award winners will be able to park near their buildings. Winners will be given documents to place on their car dash board to designate they are the winner.
- At the April meeting the sub-committee will discuss solutions to bollards and chains in parking lot D and plans for fixing the accessible parking in lot B. An issue of the debris from the parking lot ending up in the storm drains and in the waterways was discussed.

# SAUS Sub-Committee- Dr. Roberta Raymond- -No Report

#### Environmental Health and Safety Sub-Committee-Mr. Doug Wells-

- The committee will meet Friday March 22.
- They will be discussing the interim policy for EHS
- They will be involved in the hiring of an Environmental Health and Safety Manager.

#### **New Business**

- Major Projects Update- Mr. Doug Wells
  - Bayou CCAP Renovations-
    - Third floor of Bayou- 7 labs will be reduced to 6 labs-mostly biology
    - Deferred maintenance throughout the building
    - Leaving the program phase- run by UH System
    - Working on the contract for the architectural design and schematics for the design
    - Bids were let for a General Contractor- currently 8 strong applications
    - Approximate start May 2025
  - o Student Life-
    - Will remodel some student affairs spaces in SSCB
    - Mechanical and electrical drawings are being completed
  - Spirit Store
    - Waiting for mechanical and electrical drawings to go with architectural drawings
    - Possible start this summer
  - Elevator Issue
    - Elevators 1 and 2 in Bayou nearest SSCB are inoperable
    - Last two elevators in Bayou not overhauled.

- Work on a hydraulic piston system with an electronic control center
- The controls are not working and they are trying to locate parts '
- The elevators are the original to the building and are almost 50 years old
- It is not part of CCAP but will be fixed pending location of the parts
- By-Laws Template Discussion- Mr. Mark Denney
  - Working group consisting of chairs of shared governance committees, FSSC, PBC, USA, and academic council including Mr. Denney and the Provost met several times to create a consistent format for the by-laws for each of their committees. FSSC updated wording from original by-laws, added Advisory Committees and new EHS sub-committee. FSSC members are asked to read the document posted on TEAMS and it will be voted on at the April 11 th FSSC meeting and forwarded to University Council for approval.
- FSSC Report-Dr. Rebecca Huss-Keeler
  - Dr. Jenny Oakley who is the interim director of EIH was welcomed as the newest member of FSSC.
  - UHCL Bookstore and OIT Computer Services Renovation Proposal passed University Council at the February 29, 2024 meeting.
- Next Meeting- Thursday April 11 from 2-3:00 in 1135 or TEAMS

#### Facilities and Support Services Committee Attendance Sheet FY2023 - FY2024

	F12023 - F12024	
MEMBER	SEAT	ABSENT/PRESENT
Rebecca Huss-Keeler	Chair	
Cindy Cook	Student Affairs	online
Nelson Carter	Faculty 1 (serving until 2025)	
Jennifer Arney Cuevas	Faculty 5 (serving until 2025)	
Mukeshkannan Dhanasekar	SGA	
Beth Fridrick	Library	
Allison Gillespie	Office of the President	
J'Naudia Hunter-Phillips	Student Accessibility Support Center	
Rebecca Huss-Keeler	Faculty 3 (serving until 2025)	
Querencia Joshua	Strategic Enroliment	
Dorothy Kirkman	Faculty 7 (serving until 2024)	
Lori Lopez	University Advancement	
Robert Phalen	College Dean CSE (Interim)	
Roberta Raymond	Faculty 4 (serving until 2024)	
John Rodriguez	Office of Information Technology	
Susan Ryan	FSSC Administrative Support	
Bianca Schonberg	USA	
Nick Shaman	Faculty 6 (serving until 2024)	
Ishaq Unwala	Faculty 2 (serving until 2025)	
Doug Wells	Vice Chair	
Lee Ann Wheelbarger	USA	
ALTERNATES		ABSENT/PRESENT
Michelle Giles		
Miltonikea Gray-Bell		
Lisa Hudson		
Se-Hyoung Yi		
Bubba Jones		
Shelly Matejka		
Karen Neira		
Allan Patrolia		
Joan Pedro		
Kristi Randolph Simon		
Kate Rivardo		
Theresa Rodriguez		
Debra Ross	rossd@uhcl.edu	
NON-VOTING GUEST		ABSENT/PRESENT
Mark Denney	Vice President, Admin & Finance	
Ciara Evans	Student Accessibility Support Center	
l'Naudia Hunter-Phillips	Student Success Initiatives	
enny Oakley	EIH	
Stacy Zellner	Office of Compliance - Policy Coordinator	

miles Cuevas Gillespie

Setter Frederich Lori Lop Stacy zellner Volanda Ninmer Si fe Randolph

Facilities and Support Services Committee Attendance Sheet FY2023 - FY2024		
MEMBER	SEAT ABSENT/PRESENT	
Rebecca Huss-Keeler	Chair	
Cindy Cook	Student Affairs	
Nelson Carter	Faculty 1 (serving until 2025) John Critica	
Jennifer Arney Cuevas	Faculty 5 (serving until 2025)	
Mukeshkannan Dhanasekar	SGA	
Beth Fridrick	Library	
Allison Gillespie	Office of the President	
J'Naudia Hunter-Phillips	Student Accessibility Support Center	
Rebecca Huss-Keeler	Faculty 3 (serving until 2025) Pebloca & Hest Kerl	
Querencia Joshua	Strategic Enrollment	
Dorothy Kirkman	Faculty 7 (serving until 2024)	
Lori Lopez	University Advancement	
Robert Phalen	College Dean CSE (Interim)	
Roberta Raymond	Faculty 4 (serving until 2024)	
John Rodriguez	Office of Information Technology	
Susan Ryan	FSSC Administrative Support	
Bianca Schonberg	USA	
Nick Shaman	Faculty 6 (serving until 2024)	
Ishaq Unwala	Faculty 2 (serving until 2025)	
Doug Wells	Vice Chair M	
Lee Ann Wheelbarger	USA	
ALTERNATES	ABSENT/PRESENT	
Michelle Giles		
Miltonikea Gray-Bell		
Lisa Hudson		
Se-Hyoung Yi		
Bubba Jones		
Shelly Matejka		
Karen Neira		
Allan Patrolia		
Joan Pedro		
Kristi Randolph Simon		
Kate Rivardo		
Theresa Rodriguez	Theresa RODRIGUEZ	
Debra Ross	rossd@uhcl.edu Stick	
NON-VOTING GUEST	ABSENT/PRESENT	
Mark Denney	Vice President, Admin & Finance	
Ciara Evans	Student Accessibility Support Center	
l'Naudia Hunter-Phillips	Student Success Initiatives	
Jenny Oakley	EIH	
Stacy Zellner	Office of Compliance - Policy Coordinator	

Christie Parl