FSSC February 18, 2024 Meeting Report

• Parking and Traffic Sub-Committee- Dr. Nelson Carter

Status Reports and Information items

- USA parking spots for award winners are in place. Christine Paul will come to FSSC in March to describe the process
- Lot D and Arbor Parking Lot Chains and bollards are in progress to be replaced
- EV Signs for 4-hour parking limits are in place
- Accessible parking in front of SSCB- Only two parking slots are currently in front of SSCB and they need signage. There are two in front of STEM that need signage.

Members recommended that accessible slots be added to SSCB area and that there be a way for people to know where the accessible parking slots were located, especially for visitors to campus.

• SAUS Sub-Committee- Dr. Roberta Raymond

 UHCL Bookstore and OIT Computer Services Area Renovations Pros and Cons were discussed and voted on. The proposal was approved and will move on to University Council for the February 29 meeting.

New Business

- Addition of an Environmental Health and Safety Sub-Committee to FSSC. There was a need to add an EHS subcommittee to FSSC to address issues across campus in this area. This motion passed and will be sent to University Council for the Feb. 29 meeting.
- Representatives will be from:
 - Office of Research and Sponsored Programs,
 - One representative from each college (excluding the Chair) to be selected by the college manager. From that representation at least two must be Faculty Members
 - One undergraduate student representative
 - One graduate student representative
 - One University Staff Association representative
 - One University Life Committee representative
 - AVP for Facilities, Management and Construction or designee
 - This subcommittee has responsibility for Oversight, review, and recommendation to leadership, through the UHCL Shared Governance structure, on laboratory safety and all related matters at the university including all Environmental Health and Safety Policy and Procedures. All actions of the Subcommittee are brought to FSSC as a recommendation. This subcommittee is responsible for widely informing and involving all affected constituents in its deliberations and approved Actions.

New furniture for Common area of the Arbor Building Proposal

Ms. Samantha Pulse from the Center for Educational Programs in Arbor presented a slide show of the furniture in the main hall of the Arbor Building which is in much need of repair and replacement. There was a proposal that was approved prior to the pandemic to replace this furniture but it was never don.

The furniture is heavily used and there is not enough furniture or outlets for all the students and others who sit in the hallway between classes. The Arbor Building is 50 years old and so is some of the furniture. That area is used by COE and HSH students, and parents from the CADD and children's art program. Mr. Wells will be looking into how we can eventually provide better furniture for that area.

Next FSSC meeting – Thursday March 21 at 2:00

Facilities and Support Services Committee Attendance Sheet FY2023 - FY2024

| MEMBER | SEAT | ABSENT/PRESENT , |
|--------------------------|--------------------------------------|---|
| Rebecca Huss-Keeler | Chair | Rebucca Guss Keeley |
| Patrick Cardenas | Student Affairs | , |
| Nelson Carter | Faculty 1 (serving until 2025) | |
| Jennifer Arney Cuevas | Faculty 5 (serving until 2025) | |
| Beth Fridrick | Library | |
| Allison Gillespie | Office of the President | |
| Robert Phalen | College Dean CSE (Interim) | |
| Rebecca Huss-Keeler | Faculty 3 (serving until 2025) | |
| Bubba Jones | Vice Chair | |
| Querencia Joshua | Strategic Enrollment | |
| Dorothy Kirkman | Faculty 7 (serving until 2024) | |
| Lori Lopez | University Advancement | |
| Roberta Raymond | Faculty 4 (serving until 2024) | |
| John Rodriguez | Office of Information Technology | |
| Susan Ryan | FSSC Administrative Support | |
| Bianca Schonberg | USA | |
| Nick Shaman | Faculty 6 (serving until 2024) | |
| Ishaq Unwala | Faculty 2 (serving until 2025) | |
| Lee Ann Wheelbarger | USA | dulherlkrage |
| Mukeshkannan Dhanasekar | SGA | |
| ALTERNATES | | ABSENT/PRESENT |
| Cindy Cook | | |
| Michelle Giles | | |
| Miltonikea Gray-Bell | | |
| Lisa Hudson | | |
| Se-Hyoung Yi | | |
| Shelly Matejka | | |
| Karen Neira | | |
| Allan Patrolia | | |
| Joan Pedro | | |
| Kate Rivardo | | |
| Theresa Rodriguez | | \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ |
| Debra Ross | | |
| NON-VOTING GUEST | | ABSENT/PRESENT |
| Mark Denney | Vice President, Admin & Finance | Mah 10 |
| Ciara Evans | Student Accessibility Support Center | |
| J'Naudia Hunter-Phillips | Student Success Initiatives | |
| J'Naudia Hunter-Phillips | Student Accessibility Support Center | |

Facilities and Support Services Committee Attendance Sheet FY2023 - FY2024

| MEMBER | SEAT | ABSENT/PRESENT |
|--------------------------|--------------------------------------|----------------|
| Rebecca Huss-Keeler | Chair | |
| Patrick Cardenas | Student Affairs | Online |
| Nelson Carter | Faculty 1 (serving until 2025) | |
| Jennifer Arney Cuevas | Faculty 5 (serving until 2025) | online |
| Beth Fridrick | Library | (1 |
| Allison Gillespie | Office of the President | |
| Robert Phalen | College Dean CSE (Interim) | online |
| Rebecca Huss-Keeler | Faculty 3 (serving until 2025) | |
| Bubba Jones | Vice Chair | online |
| Querencia Joshua | Strategic Enrollment | |
| Dorothy Kirkman | Faculty 7 (serving until 2024) | |
| Lori Lopez | University Advancement | online |
| Roberta Raymond | Faculty 4 (serving until 2024) | 132.33.12.40.3 |
| John Rodriguez | Office of Information Technology | |
| Susan Ryan | FSSC Administrative Support | |
| Bianca Schonberg | USA | |
| Nick Shaman | Faculty 6 (serving until 2024) | |
| Ishaq Unwala | Faculty 2 (serving until 2025) | |
| Lee Ann Wheelbarger | USA | |
| Mukeshkannan Dhanasekar | SGA | |
| ALTERNATES | | ABSENT/PRESENT |
| Cindy Cook | | |
| Michelle Giles | | |
| Miltonikea Gray-Bell | | |
| Lisa Hudson | | |
| Se-Hyoung Yi | | |
| Shelly Matejka | | |
| Karen Neira | | |
| Allan Patrolia | | |
| Joan Pedro | | |
| Kate Rivardo | | |
| Theresa Rodriguez | | |
| Debra Ross | | |
| NON-VOTING GUEST | | ABSENT/PRESENT |
| Mark Denney | Vice President, Admin & Finance | |
| Ciara Evans | Student Accessibility Support Center | |
| J'Naudia Hunter-Phillips | Student Success Initiatives | |
| J'Naudia Hunter-Phillips | Student Accessibility Support Center | |