# University of Houston **Z** Clear Lake

Academic Council Meeting Thursday, February 16, 2023 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. B2425 MINUTES

## Dr. Christopher Maynard

Approval of November 17, 2022 Minutes -minutes were unanimously approved.

#### A. Items

- 1. Admissions and Transfer Requirements Mechanical Engineering Program

  Motion to approve item previously approved to return to University Council for approval motion unanimously approved.
- Film and Media Studies. B. Huss-Keeler explained the minor. There are not a lot of
  prerequisites and most courses have been taught before. Minor will acknowledge track
  several students are taking by noting minor on their transcript.

  Motion to approve item and forward to University Council for approval motion unanimously
  approved.

### B. Discussion Items (Provost)

- Online Teaching Academy (L. Gaskins)-presented PowerPoint. He will be scheduling
  information meetings with all the colleges to bring faculty up to date.
- Policy on Policies (M. Denney)-presented PowerPoint. Policy is crafted after UHS's policy but
  with additions for UHCL and explains how polices move through shared governance. He is
  moving the policy through all shared governance committees and will take summary of
  comments to University Council to share.
- Provost and President will be in Austin with Legislature 2/20-22 monitoring and working with government relations teams and meeting with representatives.

#### Guests

- L. Gaskins, Senior Associate Vice President for IT/CIO
- M. Denney, VP Administration and Finance

Next Meeting falls in spring break week and will be moved to March 23.



ACADEMIC COUNCIL 2022-2023		DATE: 2-16-23			
Title	Member		Alternate		
Senior V.P. for Academic Affairs & Provost (Chair)	Christopher	Maynard	Kathryn	Matthew	
Vice Provost	Kathryn	Matthew	Pam	Shefman	
AVP - Student Success and Initiatives	Tim	Richardson	Maria	Ramos	
Council of Professors	Christine	Kovic	Laurie	Weaver	
Council of Chairs					
Dean - COB	Ed	Waller	Troy	Voelker	
Dean - HSH	Glenn	Sanford	Sheerekha	Subramanian	
Dean - CSE	Miguel	Gonzalez	David	Garrison	
Dean - COE	Joan	Pedro	Terry	Shepherd	
Snr Assoc VP - OIT/CIO	LeeBrian	Gaskins			
AVP Global Learning and Strategy/Diplomacy Inst.	Gigi	Do	Edmund	Herod	
FSEC - Senator At Large (COB)	Kathleen	Garland	Dorothy	Kirkman	
FSEC - Chair, Budget & Facilities (CSE)	Amber	Brown	Leroy	Robinson	
FSEC - Chair, Curriculum (COE)	Renee	Lastrapes	Becky	Huss-Keele	
FSEC - Chair, Faculty Life (HSH)	Neal	Dugre	Larry	Rohde	
FSEC - Chair, Teaching & Research (CSE)	Gene	Shan	Preeti	Jain	
FSEC - Past President (COE)	Paul	Withey	Yvette	Bendeck	
FSEC - President (HSH)	Christine	Walther	Isabell	Kusters	
FSEC - President-Elect (COB)	Steven	Cotten			
FAAF Provost Office	Heather	Kanenberg			
Guest:	Mark	Denney			
Secretariat: Charise Armstrong x 3004	60% Quorum		=PRESENT		

