# University of Houston Z Clear Lake

Academic Council Meeting Thursday, December 16, 2021 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. (ZOOM)

## **MINUTES**

## **Dr. Christopher Maynard**

Approval of October 21, 2021 Minutes-minutes were unanimously approved.

#### A. Items

1. <u>1.6 Academic Policy Development Policy (Elizabeth Beavers)</u>

Policy was created to compliment and parallel shared governance process. Faculty Senate approved in May 2021 then sent to UHS Legal for legal sufficiency review. UHS returned policy with minimal revision that did not require return to Faculty Senate.

The item was unanimously approved and will move to University Council for the February 10, 2022 agenda.

### 2. Academic Honesty Policy (Elizabeth Beavers)

The Faculty Senate reviewed the policy last year; it was forwarded to UHS Legal Counsel to review for legal sufficiency. Some substantive changes were made which brought in the Dean of Students and the Provost to review and revise. The policy was then sent back to Faculty Senate and was approved December 6, 2021.

The item was unanimously approved and will move to University Council for the February 10, 2022 agenda.

3. <u>Library Mission & Vision Statement (Vivienne McClendon)</u>

Faculty Senate voted to endorse the item; a vote was taken for Academic Council.

The information item was unanimously endorsed and will move to University Council for the February 10, 2022 agenda.

#### B. Discussion

 Elizabeth Beavers informed members that Faculty Senate Executive Committee is working with UHS Legal Counsel on the Workload Policy. Once approved by legal, the item will move to Academic Council for review and vote. Paul Withey shared the results of the Faculty Senate Referendum vote: 72 voted (66 in favor; 6 opposed).

Next Meeting 1/20/22



ACADEMIC COUNCIL 2021-2022	DATE: D	ecember 16, 2021		
Title	Member Alternate			
Interim Snr V.P. for Academic Affairs & Provost (Chair)	Christopher	Maynard	None	
AVP - Academic Affairs	Kathryn	Matthew	Robert	Bartsch
VP Strategic Enrollment Management	Lee	Young	Bryan	Heard
AVP - Student Success and Initiatives	Tim	Richardson	Maria	Ramos
VP - Student Affairs	Aaron	Hart	David	Rachita
Council of Professors	Laurie	Weaver	Carol	Carman
Dean - COB	Ed	₩aller	Troy	Voelker
Dean - HSH	Glenn	Sanford	Samuel	Gladden
Dean - CSE	Miguel	Gonzalez	David	Garrison
Dean - COE	Joan	Pedro	Felix	Simieou
Executive Director of the Neumann Library	Vivienne	McClendon	Chloris	Yue
FSEC - Senator At Large (COB)	Leroy	Robinson	Faiza	Zalila
FSEC - Chair, Budget & Facilities (CSE)	Ishaq	Unwala	Angela	Kelling
FSEC - Chair, Curriculum (COE)	Rebecca	Huss-Keeler	Anna	Klyueva
FSEC - Chair, Faculty Life (HSH)	Sarah	Costello	Neal	Dugre
FSEC - Chair, Teaching & Research (CSE)	Anton	Dubrovskiy	RJ	Davis
FSEC - Past President (COE)	Elizabeth	Beavers	Amber	Brown
FSEC - President (CSE)	Paul	Withey	Gene	Shan
FSEC - President-Elect (HSH)	Christine	₩alther	Beth	Hentges
FAAF Provost Office	Heather	Kanenberg		
Guest: Global	Bianca	Schonberg		
Secretariat: Charise Armstrong x 3004	60% Quorum			

