Academic Council Meeting Thursday, October 20, 2022 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. MINUTES

Dr. Christopher Maynard

Approval of April 21, 2022 Minutes - minutes were unanimously approved.

A. Items

1. Academic Council Committee Structure (Provost)

Provost proposed restructure of Academic Council membership to continue adherence to representation of Faculty Senate and Provost Direct Reports.

- Remove AVP Strategic Enrollment and AVP Student Affairs who now report to the President and serve on University Council
- Add Dr. Gigi Do, AVP Global Learning and Strategy/Diplomacy Institute
- Removing AVP for Information Technology; replacing Senior Associate VP, OIT/CIO
- Move Dr. Vivien McClendon, Executive Director Neumann Library, to Alternate position for Dr. Brian Gaskins, Senior Associate VP, OIT/CIO

Information Item was unanimously approved to move to University Council.

2. Accounting Minor (COB Ed Waller, Attachment)

Proposed minor designed for business majors, 21 hours with prerequisites.

Motion to approve – motion unanimously approved to move to University Council.

B. Discussion

1. Faculty Annual Evaluations (C. Walther)

- To align with Workload considering Post-Tenure Review revisions
- Modification of workload percentage in annual review would not be permanent
- Take into consideration accreditation
- What triggers unsatisfactory need definition
- Number of times triggered result
- Effort/Output Research/Teaching/Service
- Varies by discipline; create a crosswalk for each
- Need to be a formal process in place to meet the needs of the program. Colleges need to define and communicate acceptable and unacceptable; provide clear understanding to faculty. Include:
 - Clarity of Process
 - Expectation
 - Avoidance of unintended consequences/triggers; include a path back
 - Negotiation of weights
 - Provide faculty assistance in prioritizing
- Recommendation: First, college level discussions to determine if any changes is needed in policy and procedure. Provost stressed process must be fair and equitable.

Next Meeting: November 17, 2022



ACADEMIC COUNCIL 2022-2023	DATE: 10-20-22				
Title	N	Member		Alternate	
Senior V.P. for Academic Affairs & Provost (Chair)	Christopher	Maynard	Kathryn	Matthew	
Vice Provost	Kathryn	Matthew	Robert	Bartsch	
AVP - Student Success and Initiatives	Tim	Richardson	Maria	Ramos	
Council of Professors	Christine	Kovic	Laurie	Weaver	
Dean - COB	Ed	Waller	Troy	Voelker	
Dean - HSH	Glenn	Sanford	Mary	Short	
Dean - CSE	Miguel	Gonzalez	David	Garrison	
Dean - COE	Joan	Pedro	Terry	Shepherd	
Snr Assoc VP - OIT/CIO	LeeBrian	Gaskins			
AVP Global Learning and Strategy/Diplomacy Inst.	Gigi	Do	Edmund	Herod	
FSEC - Senator At Large (COB)	Kathleen	Garland	Dorothy	Kirkman	
FSEC - Chair, Budget & Facilities (CSE)	Amber	Brown	Leroy	Robinson	
FSEC - Chair, Curriculum (COE)	Renee	Lastrapes			
FSEC - Chair, Faculty Life (HSH)	Neal	Dugre	Larry	Rohde	
FSEC - Chair, Teaching & Research (CSE)	Anton	Dubrovskiy	Preeti	Jain	
FSEC - Past President (COE)	Paul	Withey	Yvette	Bendeck	
FSEC - President (HSH)	Christine	Walther	Isabell	Kusters	
FSEC - President-Elect (COB)	Steven	Cotten			
FAAF Provost Office	Heather	Kanenberg			
Guest:		T			
Secretariat: Charise Armstrong x 3004	60% Quoru	m	=PRESENT		

