Quality Enhancement Plan

The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) is the component of the accreditation process that reflects and affirms the commitment of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to the enhancement of the quality of higher education and to the proposition that student learning is at the heart of the mission of all institutions of higher learning. By definition, the QEP describes a carefully designed course of action that addresses a well-defined and focused topic or issue related to enhancing student learning. The QEP should be embedded within the institution’s ongoing integrated institution-wide planning and evaluation process and may very well evolve from this existing process or from other processes related to the institution’s internal reaffirmation review. 

Developing the QEP as a part of the reaffirmation process was an opportunity for the institution to enhance overall institutional quality and effectiveness by focusing on an issue or issues the institution considered important to improving student learning. Responding to this reaffirmation requirement has been an impetus for focusing critical and creative energy.
The University of Houston-Clear Lake has selected the following QEP topic: 
Applied Critical Thinking for Lifelong Learning and Adaptability (pdf)

Once the QEP is fully implemented, the majority of faculty who teach undergraduate courses within and across each of the schools of the university will:

  • Incorporate the best practices advocated by the Foundation for Critical Thinking for teaching ACT skills into one or more of their courses.
  • Incorporate ACT learning outcomes into one or more of their courses.
  • Identify best practices and learning outcomes on the course syllabi of the ACT courses they are teaching.
The key student learning outcomes of the QEP are:
  • Students will use curiosity to identify a particular problem or area of interest within a discipline.
  • Students will make connections to their particular issues or problems based upon evidence acquired by research methodologies and citation methods within the discipline.
  • Students will demonstrate through creativity through a divergent mental approach exploring original alternative views/solutions.
  • Students will communicate outcomes through writing and/or presentations.

Applied Critical Thinking for Lifelong Learning and Adaptability

What is the QEP? The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) is a major part of UHCL's re-accreditation process as a member of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).

What is the purpose of the QEP? The QEP is designed to enhance student learning of all UHCL students.

What is the topic of UHCL's QEP? Applied Critical Thinking for Lifelong Learning and Adaptability.

Why did UHCL choose the topic of Applied Critical Thinking? The topic is important to student success, has faculty support, and will strengthen critical thinking skills for all UHCL students.

What is critical thinking? Critical thinking is basically a higher level of thinking related to analyzing and evaluating information.

What do you mean by "applied"? We want students to think critically and apply that skill in everyday situations.

QLT Committee 2018-2019

The QEP Leadership Team (QLT) provides oversight of the implementation and ongoing evaluation of the effort, modifying the initial design and implementation when needed, reviewing and endorsing syllabi for courses submitted for ACT (Applied Critical
Thinking) status, and planning, designing, and implementing ACT workshops.

Current Members

  • Institutional Effectiveness

    Assessment and QEP
    Phone: 281-283-3065

    Institutional Research
    Phone: 281-283-3005

    Fax: 281-283-3030

    Bayou Building 2325
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 80
    Houston, TX 77058-1002

    Office Hours:
    Monday - Friday
    8 a.m. - 5 p.m.