Academic Council October 15, 2020 2 – 3 pm (ZOOM)

Attendees: see the list of those highlighted in yellow (attached)

Provost Berberich called the meeting to order at 2:02 pm.

Dr. Elizabeth Beavers made a motion to approve the April 16, 2020 Academic Council minutes which was seconded by Dr. Miguel Gonzalez. The minutes were unanimously approved.

Education Abroad Policy: note that the posted word document was not the current version. Dr. Rebecca Huss-Keeler provided the updated policy as a PDF.

- Dr. Tim Richardson noted that faculty provide approvals before advisors will sign the application form.
- When discussing the application form, Dr. Paul Withey suggested that maybe add a signature line for faculty.
- Dr. Heather Kanenberg added that the uploading to E-services needs to be confirmed.
- Discussion on whether or not to hold the policy for another month to discuss the role of the approval process.
- Dr. Kathryn Matthew stated that there is interest in Education Abroad to get this policy updated.
- Dr. Heather Kanenberg made an amendment to modify the sentence, "Courses taken on an approved education abroad program may be considered in residence per the approval of the college dean." To "Courses taken on an approved education abroad program may be considered in residence per the approval of the academic program and the college dean."
- Seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Beavers and unanimously approved.
- It was noted that Pass/Fail is listed on the policy where it should read Credit/Non-Credit. Dr. Elizabeth Beavers made a motion for a second amendment which was seconded by Dr. Jeff Mountain to replace Pass/Fail with Credit/Non-credit. The motion was unanimously approved.
- Dr. Heather Kanenberg made a motion to approved the policy with the two amendments. This was seconded by Dr. Jeff Mountain. *The motion was unanimously approved.*

The EDLS 6 Hour Dissertation correction was presented. Dr. Jeff Mountain made a motion to accept the change which was seconded by Dr. Paul Withey. *The motion was unanimously approved.*

Test Optional Policy extension of the to August 2022 was presented. Dr. Miguel Gonzalez made a motion to extend the policy to August 2022 which was seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Beavers.

The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:40 pm.

ACADEMIC COUNCIL 2020-2021			DA	TE:	10-15-20	TIME:	2pm
Title	Member			Alternate			Signature
Snr V.P. for Academic Affairs & Provost (Chair)	Steven	Berberich	None				
AVP - Academic Affairs	Kathryn	Matthew	Pat Cuch	iens			
Interim AVP - Enrollment Management	Charlotte	Tullos	Bryan	Heard			
AVP - Student Success and Initiatives	Tim	Richardson	Maria	Ramos			
VP - Student Affairs	Aaron	Hart	David	Rachita	I		
Council of Professors	Jeff	Mountain	James	Dabney	,		
Dean - COB	Ed	Waller	Dorothy	Kirkmar	1		
Interim Dean - HSH	Samuel	Gladden	Christal	Seahon	n		
Dean - CSE	Miguel	Gonzalez	David	Garriso	n		
Dean - COE	Joan	Pedro	Felix Sin	nieou			
Director - Library & Learning Resources	Vivienne	McClendon	Chloris Y	'ue			
FSEC - Senator At Large (COB)	Faiza	Zalila					
FSEC - Chair, Budget & Facilities (CSE)	Brian	Stephens					
FSEC - Chair, Curriculum (COE)	Becky	Huss-Keeler					
FSEC - Chair, Faculty Life (COE & HSH)	Roberta Raymond - COE (fall)	Sara Costello- HSH (spring)					
FSEC - Chair, Teaching & Research (COB)	Randall	<mark>Xu</mark>					
FSEC - Past President (HSH)	Heather	Kanenberg					
FSEC - President (COE)	Elizabeth	Beavers					
FSEC - President-Elect (CSE)	Paul	Withey					
Secretariat Support Charise Armstrong x 3004	60% Quoru	im		YE	LLOW	= A 1	TENDED