University of Houston Z Clear Lake

Academic Council Meeting Thursday, February 15, 2024 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. B2230 <u>Minutes</u>

Dr. Christopher Maynard

Approval of January 11, 2023 Minutes – Minutes were unanimously approved.

A. Items

1. Annual Review Policy (S. Cotten, Faculty Senate President)

The Annual Review policy was adjusted to allow for an up-to-three-year lookback on research. The new policy also requires that colleges evaluate research, teaching, and service on a scale with *at least* four categories, and establishes that the lowest category is not meeting expectations, which is necessary to conform with state law.

Motion made to approve. Motion carried. Item will move to University Council.

2. Post-Tenure Review Policy (S. Cotton, Faculty Senate President)

Policy includes changes from last years that passed Faculty Senate. Current policy up for vote: a one-year performance plan is required after a single unsatisfactory score in teaching or service, and in research (based on up to three-years). Non-compliance could result in the revocation of tenure. If not approved, the policy will revert to the current Board of Regents plan, which trigger a one-year performance plan if there is a single unsatisfactory score in any category received within a given year.

Motion made to approve. Motion carried. Item will move to University Council.

3. Expedited Tenure Review (S. Cotton, Faculty Senate President)

An adjustment was made to the promotion and tenure policy to allow a P&T committee to be formed in an abbreviated process when hiring a faculty member with tenure or an administrator with retreat rights to a tenured faculty position.

Motion made to approve. Motion carried. Item will move to University Council.

<u>Guests</u>

Roster Below



ACADEMIC COUNCIL 2023-2024		DATE: 2-15-2024			
Title	1	Member		Alternate	
Senior V.P. for Academic Affairs & Provost (Chair)	Christopher	Maynard	Kathryn	Matthew	
Vice Provost	Kathryn	Matthew	Pam	Shefman	
AVP - Student Success and Initiatives	Tim	Richardson	Maria	Ramos	
Council of Professors	Liwen	Shih	Laurie	Weaver	
Council of Chairs	Lisa	Gossett			
Dean - COB	Ed	Waller	Troy	Voelker	
Dean - HSH	Glenn	Sanford		Subramanian	
Dean - CSE	Robert	Phalen	David	Garrison	
Dean - COE	Joan	Pedro	Terry	Shepherd	
Snr Assoc VP - OIT/CIO	LeeBrian	Gaskins	Lee	Hilyer	
FSEC - Senator At Large (COB)	Kathleen	Garland			
FSEC - Chair, Budget & Facilities (COB)	Ivelina	Pavlova-Stout			
FSEC - Chair, Curriculum (COE)	Sheila	Baker			
FSEC - Chair, Faculty Life (CSE)	Daniel	Imrecke			
FSEC - Chair, Teaching & Research (CSE)	Gene	Shan			
FSEC - Past President (HSH)	Christine	Walther			
FSEC - President (COB)	Steven	Cotten			
FSEC - President-Elect (COE)	Renée	Lastrapes			
FAAF Provost Office					
Guest:					
Secretariat: Charise Armstrong x 3004	60% Quoru	m	=PRESENT		

